We didn’t have much time between the moment we got the idea of making this trip and the actual beginning of our trip, so finding a suitable vehicle was decisive for the decision to really drive along the Panamericana. We had pretty clear ideas about all the things the vehicle should be able to do. In no way did we want to have to turn around when we got to bad streets or tracks or if we had to cross a small river. It should be an all-terrain vehicle with enough room for the children, so only twin-cabs came into consideration. This made it clear that we would look for a pick-up or something similar with enough room for a superstructure. An additional difficulty was the fact that we absolutely wanted to stay within the 3.5t limit because of our “new” German driver’s licenses.

Due to their relatively small cargo area and the restrictions that brings for the size of the superstructure, Japanese pick-ups, like the Toyota Hilux, were out of the question for us. The 130 Defender was a possibility, but, for several reasons, even it didn’t seem ideal for us. Several nights on-line led us on the right track to the BREMACH, a purportedly very sturdy all-terrain vehicle with clear and simple technology. In addition, the chassis is very light in comparison to similar vehicles, which makes the vehicle load capacity larger. We were very lucky in our search for a used BREMACH and soon found one in France in October 2012. Since there aren’t very many twin cabins for sale in Europe and the BREMACH we found had only been driven 27,000km (17,000 miles), we decided on the spot to buy the vehicle and make the trip. First of all, we drove the vehicle to Erich Christ (Allradchrist, main importer and specialist for BREMACH) in Raab near Passau, so that he could make a thorough check and get it in good shape for the big trip.

Apparently the former owners, employees of the French national railway company SNCF, hadn’t focused much on grease, lubricants, and other maintenance products, so Erich was quite appalled when he saw the miserable condition of some parts of the BREMACH. Luckily, there were no problems with the transmission and motor.  The French car dealer very fairly took over a large part of the costs resulting from the problems. In addition, our BREMACH got new springs, a new, sturdier rear axle, a large additional tank, decent wheels, and a whole lot of care and attention. Thanks to Erich’s general overhaul, we are now able to drive through the world with a very good feeling.

After the BREMACH had been made technically fit, we picked it up in Passau in December and drive to our body-builder (ORTEC – Offroadtechnik GmbH) in Steyerberg with totally unchallenged suspension. This is where our BREMACH got its rear cabin for our living quarters. Our choice was for ORTEC since they gave us a quarantee for the weight and the superstructure was produced exactly according to our concepts. What’s more, we got an appointment to have it done in a very short time period, so we were able to pick up the empty cabin by the beginning of February. Next on the program was the interior construction, which we did ourselves.

Mit hochgestelltem Dach

With raised roof

Technical Data:

  • BREMACH TGR 35×4, 2.8l turbo diesel with 106PS motor


  • Connectible 4-wheel drive, 5-gear transmission with two ranges of speed, a total of 20 forwards and 4 rear gears, differential lock in the rear
  • Tires 315/75 R16 on steel rim 8×16, 1 spare tire on roof rack
Robert vorm Rad

Robert in front of the wheel

  • Special springs from Allradchrist
  • Separ diesel filter
  • Increased air intake with cyclone pre-filter
  • Two diesel tanks (70 and 130l) (15.4 and 28.6gallons)
  • Gas mileage: 13-14l/100km (20.8 miles per gallon) at approx. 100km/h (62.5 mph) on highways
  • Hella Rallye 3003 additional headlights
  • Superstructure with aluminum framework construction with aluminum sheeting
  • Measurements: living cabin: 2.70×2.05×1.65m (LxWxH) (8.9×6.8×5.5 feet), alcove additional 80cm (33 inches) above driver cabin; rear cabin 50cm (20 inches) slanted
  • Extendable roof counter to the direction of travel
  • Seitz/Dometic plastic windows
  • Entry on the passenger side, storage compartment with gas container on driver side

Entry into the living cabin

  • Horntools 1,600kg (3,520lb) hoist winch with two deflection pulleys
Einsatz des Greifzuges

Training excercise with the horntool

  • No connection between driver and living cabins
  • Empty weight without interior constructions, diesel and driver: approx. 2,600kg (5,720lb)
  • Empty weight incl. interior constructions with all equipment, rescue equipment, spare tire, etc. (=ready to travel): 3,150kg (6,930lb)
Abschiedsfoto vom Bremach am Hamburger Hafen -  Gute Reise!

Last picture of the Bremach at the harbor in Hamburg – have a good trip!

Bremach am Hafen

Bremach at the harbor

2 Thoughts on “Vehicle

  1. Hallo,

    lieben dank für eure Berichte, da wir selber eine längere Reise nach Süd Amerika planen (ca. Oktober/ November 2014) würden wir uns gerne über den Preis von eurem Reisefahrzeug erkundigen? Wir sind eine “kleine” Familie Tibor Petra Tobias und David.

    danke für eure Rückmeldung und Zeit!

    beste Grüße Tibor und Petra

  2. Enrique Lopez Aquino on Saturday November 30th, 2013 at 12:06 AM said:

    Hi!, i saw your car today in Tuxtla Gutiérrez, i took a pic of your car an I interested to invite you visit my “ecologic park” near Tuxtla, is located in San Fernando, 30 minutes from Tuxtla…

    If Yes, contact me in my cell phone is (xxx) xxx xxxx or via email…

    I pleased you visit us…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Fahrzeug

Von der Idee die Reise überhaupt zu machen bis zum möglichen Reisebeginn hatten wir nicht viel Zeit. Daher war das Finden eines geeigneten Fahrzeuges entscheidend für den Entschluss, tatsächlich die Panamericana entlang zu fahren. Wir hatten recht klare Vorstellungen davon, was das Auto alles können sollte. Keinesfalls wollen wir umdrehen, wenn mal schlechte Straßen oder Pisten kommen oder ein kleinerer Fluss durchfahren werden soll. Es musste ein geländegängiges Fahrzeug sein und um genügend Platz für die Kinder zu haben, kamen nur Doppelkabinen in Frage.  Damit war klar, dass wir einen Pickup oder ähnliches mit genügend Platz für einen Aufbau suchten. Zusätzlich erschwerend kam hinzu, dass wir aufgrund unserer „neuen“ Führescheine die 3,5t-Grenze unbedingt einhalten wollten.

Aufgrund der relativ kleinen Ladeflächen und den damit verbundenen Restriktionen bei der Größe des Aufbaus kamen die japanischen Pickups, wie z.B. Toyota Hilux, für uns nicht in Frage. So blieb erstmal nur der 130er Defender übrig, doch auch dieser erschien uns aus mehreren Gründen nicht ganz ideal. Mehrere Nächte im Internet führten uns auf die Spur des BREMACH, ein angeblich sehr robustes und geländegängiges Auto mit einfacher und übersichtlicher Technik. Zudem ist die Chassis im Vergleich zu ähnlichen Fahrzeugen sehr leicht, woraus eine große Zuladung resultiert. Auf der Suche nach einem gebrauchten BREMACH hatten wir viel Glück, denn schon im Oktober 2012 wurden wir in Frankreich fündig.  Da es nicht viele gebrauchte Doppelkabiner in Europa zu kaufen gibt und der Angebotene BREMACH mit 27´000km auch noch nicht so viel gefahren war, entschieden wir uns kurzerhand für das Auto und damit für die Reise. Als erstes brachten wir das Fahrzeug zu Erich Christ (Allradchrist, Generalimporteur und Spezialist für BREMACH) nach Raab bei Passau, damit er es gründlich durchcheckt und fit für die große Reise macht.

Scheinbar haben sich die Vorbesitzer, Mitarbeiter der SNCF, nicht sonderlich mit Fett und anderen Schmier- und Pflegemitteln auseinandergesetzt, so dass Erich ziemlich entsetzt über den miserablen Zustand einiger Teile des BREMACH war. Jedoch gab es glücklicherweise keine Probleme an den Getrieben und am Motor.  Fairerweise übernahm der französische Händler einen großen Teil der daraus resultierenden Kosten.  Außerdem bekam unser BREMACH neue Federn, eine neue und stabilere Hinterachse, einen großen Zusatztank, anständige Räder sowie eine ganze Menge Pflege und Zuwendung. Dank der Generalüberholung von Erich können wir jetzt mit einem sehr guten Gefühl durch die Welt fahren.

Nachdem der BREMACH nun technisch in Ordnung gebracht worden war, holten wir ihn im Dezember in Passau ab und fuhren mit einer völlig unterforderten Federung nach Steyerberg zu unserem Aufbauer (ORTEC – Offroadtechnik GmbH). Hier bekam unser BREMACH seine Kabine. Unsere Wahl fiel auf ORTEC, da wir hier eine Gewichtsgarantie bekamen und der Aufbau genau nach unseren Vorstellungen gefertigt wurde. Außerdem klappte es, binnen kurzer Zeit einen Termin für die Fertigung der Kabine zu bekommen, so dass wir bereits Anfang Februar die leere Kabine abnehmen konnten. Nun folgte der Innenausbau, den wir in Eigenregie machten.

Mit hochgestelltem Dach

Mit hochgestelltem Dach

Technische Daten:

  • BREMACH TGR 35×4, 2,8l Turbodiesel mit 106PS
Motor

Motor

  • Zuschaltbarer Allradantrieb, 5-Ganggetriebe mit zwei Untersetzungsgruppen, insgesamt 20 Vorwärts- und 4 Rückwärtsgänge, Differentialsperre hinten
  • Bereifung 315/75 R16 auf Stahlfelge 8×16, 1 Reserverad auf Dachträger
Robert vorm Rad

Robert vorm Rad

  • Spezialfedern von Allradchrist
  • Separ-Dieselfilter
  • Erhöhte Luftansaugung mit Zyklonvorfilter
  • Zwei Dieseltanks (70 und 130l)
  • Verbrauch 13-14l/100km bei ca. 100km/h auf der Autobahn
  • Hella Rallye 3003 Zusatzscheinwerfer
  • Aufbau in Alu-Rahmenbauweise mit Alublech verkleidet
  • Abmessungen Kabine: 2,70×2,05×1,65m (LxBxH), Alkoven zusätzlich 80cm über Fahrerkabine; hintere 50cm abgeschrägt
  • Aufstelldach entgegen der Fahrtrichtung
  • Seitz/Dometic Kunststofffenster
  • Zugang auf Beifahrerseite, Staufach mit Gasflasche auf Fahrerseite
Leiter-2

Zugang Wohnkabine

  •  Horntools 1‘600kg Greifzug mit zwei Umlenkrollen
Einsatz des Greifzuges

Einsatz des Greifzuges

  • Keine Verbindung zwischen Fahrer- und Wohnkabine
  • Leergewicht ohne Innenausbau, Diesel und Fahrer: ca. 2‘600kg
  • Leergewicht inkl. Innenausbau mit allen Geräten, Bergematerial, Ersatzrad usw. (=reisefertig): 3150kg
Abschiedsfoto vom Bremach am Hamburger Hafen -  Gute Reise!

Abschiedsfoto vom Bremach am Hamburger Hafen – Gute Reise!

Bremach am Hafen

Bremach am Hafen

2 Thoughts on “Fahrzeug

  1. Hallo,

    lieben dank für eure Berichte, da wir selber eine längere Reise nach Süd Amerika planen (ca. Oktober/ November 2014) würden wir uns gerne über den Preis von eurem Reisefahrzeug erkundigen? Wir sind eine “kleine” Familie Tibor Petra Tobias und David.

    danke für eure Rückmeldung und Zeit!

    beste Grüße Tibor und Petra

  2. Enrique Lopez Aquino on Samstag, der 30. November 2013 at 00:06 said:

    Hi!, i saw your car today in Tuxtla Gutiérrez, i took a pic of your car an I interested to invite you visit my “ecologic park” near Tuxtla, is located in San Fernando, 30 minutes from Tuxtla…

    If Yes, contact me in my cell phone is (xxx) xxx xxxx or via email…

    I pleased you visit us…

Hinterlasse eine Antwort

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert *

CAPTCHA-Bild

*

Du kannst folgende HTML-Tags benutzen: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>