Route Nicaragua

Travel information

We drove 242 miles (390km) through Nicaragua and were there for four days. In the following report, there are a few tips for an individual trip through Nicaragua in your own vehicle.


The C4 stamp from Guatemala is valid, and your passport is also stamped. US$ 12 per person was charged as “tourist tax“. Upon departure, US$ 3 more per person was charged as “fee for waiting in line“. Although these fees are not permitted under the C4 agreement, trying to resist is useless since the immigration official has the leverage.

Health insurance

For our entire trip, we took out family travel insurance from STA-Travel, which had the best cost-quality ratio compared to other providers. It is especially important to ensure that there are not any high deductibles.


Vehicle importation was surprisingly simple. The customs official even had a copier and prepared the necessary copies himself. Vehicle importation was free of charge. In Nicaragua, insurance is obligatory and can be taken out for US$ 12/month at the border


The condition of the streets varies from good to catastrophic. We found the words main connecting streets in Central America here. There are a lot of oxcarts and cyclists on the roads, even on large ones. In the cities, the one-way streets often have no signs, so we oriented ourselves on the direction the cars were parked in. There was very little traffic overland, but lots of congestion in the cities.

Eating and drinking

Before driving into Costa Rica, it is worth is to stock up on four and drink. At the beaches, you can be bamboozled when you buy something. If you feel the price is too high, mentioning that you aren’t from the U.S.A. and that you know the general price structure can help. We found fewer roadside vendors than usual. There are no more tacos; instead, you find lots of stews and soups. We got drinking water free of charge at gas stations.


The usual precautions apply in the cities and on the beaches, and especially pickpockets and cars being broken into can be a problem. Spending the night in a safe place is important; we heard first-hand about an attack while people were camping.


In January, it was very hot and dry. Since there were hardly ever any clouds in the sky, the sun burned very strongly.

Tips for travel with children

In restaurants, the employees were attentive and offered high-chairs and toys for the children. We had no negative experiences, but the Nicaraguans were very reserved and not as sociable as the people we had become used to in the other countries.

Places to spend the night

Here is a map of all our overnight stays in Central America.
Here is a list of the individual places with GPS coordinates, cost, and commentaries and
here is the accompanying gpx file for downloading.

We didn’t have any big problems finding suitable places to spend the night. As a rule, restaurants, hotels with parking lots, and 24-hour-parking areas in cities are well-suited. Some of the demands for a night on the parking lot were totally excessive; then we just kept asking around since we had no desire to bargain when the starting point was much too high.

Blog Entries

Picture Galleries

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Nicaragua

Route Nicaragua

Reiseinfos

Wir waren nur vier Tage in Nicaragua und sind dabei 390km gefahren. Im Folgenden ein paar Tipps für eine Individualreise mit dem eigenen Fahrzeug durch Nicaragua.

Visum

Es gilt der C4-Stempel von Guatemala, der Pass wurde zusätzlich gestempelt. Weiterhin wurden US$ 12 pro Person „Touristensteuer“ erhoben. Bei der Ausreise wurden weitere US$ 3 pro Person „Warteschlangengebühr“ verlangt. Obwohl diese Gebühren aufgrund des C4-Abkommens nicht erhoben werden dürften, hat man keine Chance, sich diesem zu widersetzen, da der Einreisebeamte am längeren Hebel sitzt.

Krankenversicherung

Wir haben eine Familienreiseversicherung für unsere gesamte Reise bei STA-Travel abgeschlossen, diese hatte im Vergleich zu anderen Anbietern das beste Preis- Leistungsverhältnis. Insbesondere sollte darauf geachtet werden, dass man keine hohen Selbstbehalte hat.

Fahrzeug

Die Fahrzeugeinfuhr war überraschend einfach, der Zollbeamte hatte sogar ein Kopiergerät und fertigte selbst die nötigen Kopien an. Gekostet hat die Fahrzeugeinfuhr nichts. In Nicaragua ist eine Versicherung obligatorisch, diese kann für US$ 12/Monat an der Grenze erworben werden

Autofahren

Der Zustand der Straßen variiert von gut zu katastrophal. Wir hatten hier die schlechtesten Hauptverbindungsstraßen in Zentralamerika. Es sind sehr viele Ochsenkarren und Radfahrer unterwegs, auch auf großen Straßen. In den Städten sind Einbahnstraßen oft nicht als solche beschildert, wir haben uns an der Parkrichtung der Autos orientiert. Über Land hat es recht wenig Verkehr, in den Städten waren die Straßen verstopft.

Essen und Trinken

Es lohnt sich, vor der Reise nach Costa Rica Großeinkauf zu machen. An Ständen kann es sein, dass man übers Ohr gehauen wird. Kommt einem der Preis überzogen vor, hilft ein Hinweis, dass man nicht aus den USA kommt und das allgemeine Preisgefüge kennt. Wir haben weniger Straßenstände als gewohnt angetroffen. Es gibt keine Tacos mehr, stattdessen viel Eintöpfe und Suppen. Trinkwasser haben wir gratis an Tankstellen bekommen.

Sicherheit

Es gelten die üblichen Vorkehrungen beim Besuch von Städten und Stränden, vor allem Taschendiebstahl und Autoeinbruch können zum Problem werden. Sichere Übernachtungsplätze sind wichtig, wir haben Infos aus erster Hand von einem Überfall während des Campens bekommen.

Klima

Im Januar war es sehr heiß und trocken. Da es fast immer wolkenlos war, stach die Sonne sehr stark.

Reisetipps mit Kindern

In Restaurants waren die Angestellten aufmerksam und haben Hochstühle und Spielzeug angeboten. Wir haben keine negativen Erfahrungen gemacht, allerdings waren die Nicaraguaner sehr verschlossen und nicht kontaktfreudig, wie wir es von den anderen Ländern gewohnt waren.

Übernachtungsplätze

Hier ist eine Karte mit allen unseren Übernachtungsplätzen in Mittelamerika, hier ist Auflistung der einzelnen Plätze inklusive GPS Koordinaten, Kosten und Kommentaren und hier ist die zugehörige gpx-Datei zum Download.

Wir hatten keine großen Probleme, geeignete Übernachtungsplätze zu finden. Grundsätzlich eigen sich Restaurants, Hotels mit Parkplatz und 24h-Parkplätze in Städten. Teilweise waren die Forderungen für eine Nacht auf dem Parkplatz total überzogen, wir haben uns dann weiter durchgefragt, da wir bei so einer Ausgangslage keine Lust auf Verhandlungen hatten.

Einzelbeiträge

Bildergalerien

Hinterlasse eine Antwort

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert *

CAPTCHA-Bild

*

Du kannst folgende HTML-Tags benutzen: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>