Belize

Route Belize

Travel Infos

We were only in Belize for four nights and drove about 300 miles (485 km) there. In the following, there are a few tips for an individual trip through Belize with your own vehicle, whereby we don’t have too much to write due to the shortness of our stay.

Visa

When we entered the country, we got permission for a four-week stay. This seemed sufficient to us. Upon departure, a farewell fee of B$15/adult was charged.

Health insurance

For our entire trip, we took out family travel insurance from STA-Travel, which had the best cost-quality ratio compared to other providers. It is especially important to ensure that there are no high deductibles.

Vehicle

Vehicle importation for Belize is quite simple, and we didn’t need any help. You get a stamp in your passport where the chassis number has to be listed. You have to take out insurance, and there is a place where it is sold directly after the border. A couple of hundred yards (meters) further on, there is a check point for this. No perishable food and no alcoholic drinks are allowed to be imported. For us, the customs official only looked into the vehicle briefly and didn’t check the closets or refrigerator.

Diesel is expensive, about $8.00/gallon (€1.50/liter). For this reason, we filled the tank in Mexiko and didn’t need to stop at a gas station in Belize.

Driving

The three main connecting roads are tarred, while the rest is gravel or mud. By rain, you have to think three times about whether you want to try driving through a muddy passage or take the risk of getting stuck in it. Even apparently small puddles can be very deep, so the greatest caution is required. In villages, there are the topes which we are familiar with from Mexico, which are called bumps here. In any case, they are much rarer and well marked in Belize. Road signs are sufficient, and the main destinations are always on them.

Eating and drinking

The most typical meal is rice with beans cooked together in a big pot. With this, you have a choice of beef or chicken. You can usually get this kind of meal inexpensively and in abundance at street stands; otherwise, the prices in restaurants are at the average European level. In Belize, excellent rum is produced and available at a low price. Beer is expensive, and wine is very expensive.

Shopping is no problem, and there is a large choice, but the prices are significantly higher than in Mexico. Drinking water is sold in 5-gallon canisters for about $2.50 and can be bought all over.

Safety

Belize is a relatively safe land to travel in. We were often warned about pickpockets in Belize City, where vehicles are apparently also broken into often. Due to the many cyclists without lights and animals on the streets, driving at night is not recommendable.

Climate

We were there in December, and it should have been dry, but the rainy season was working overtime, so it rained almost the entire time and was hot and humid. The rain came down in tropical dimensions: when it rained, it poured.

Traveling with children

There are a lot of cave tours, jungle excursions, and so forth – all of them great if the children are a bit older. For younger children, nothing special is offered, and there is only a not very well-kept playground here and there. The locals in Belize were pretty indifferent in regard to our children; during our excursion to the monkey, the guide didn’t pay any particular attention to the fact that two small children were accompanying us. After so much friendliness to children in Mexico, Belize presented a clear change.

List of Campsites

Here is a map with all of our overnight stays in Central America.

Here is a list of each place with GPS coordinates, cost, and commentaries.

Here is the accompanying gpx-file for downloading.

In Belize, some of the camp-sites are exorbitantly expensive. Spending the night on side streets in villages, on parking lots, or along the coast is no problem. The greatest nuisance comes in the form of the many mosquitoes and sand flies. A good spray and mosquito nets are a partially good solution since the small flies can often get through the netting. The sand flies appear in the low areas, especially near water and on fields. They are a painful scourge, and the only thing that helps is to flee inland. The use of mosquito sprays is limited anyway since your skin reacts sensitively to them after a while. This is why long, light clothing is the best solution.

Blog Entries

Picture Galleries

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CAPTCHA Image

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Belize

Route Belize

Reiseinfos

Wir waren nur vier Nächte in Belize und sind dabei 485 km gefahren. Im Folgenden ein paar Tipps für eine Individualreise mit dem eigenen Fahrzeug durch Belize, wobei wir aufgrund der kurzen Aufenthaltsdauer nicht allzuviel schreiben können.

Visum

Bei der Einreise erhielten wir eine vierwöchige Aufenthaltsgenehmigung. Dies erschien uns als ausreichend. Bei der Ausreise wurde eine Verabschiedungsgebühr von 15B$/Erwachsenem erhoben.

Krankenversicherung

Wir haben eine Familienreiseversicherung für unsere gesamte Reise bei STA-Travel abgeschlossen, diese hatte im Vergleich zu anderen Anbietern das beste Preis- Leistungsverhältnis. Insbesondere sollte darauf geachtet werden, dass man keine hohen Selbstbehalte hat.

Fahrzeug

Die Fahrzeugeinfuhr in Belize ist unkompliziert. Man bekommt einen Stempel in den Pass, auf dem die Fahrgestellnummer eingetragen wird. Es muss eine Versicherung abgeschlossen werden, direkt nach der Grenze gibt es eine Verkaufsstelle. Einige 100m weiter wird das dann auch kontrolliert. Es dürfen keine verderblichen Lebensmittel und alkoholische Getränke eingeführt werden. Bei uns hat der Zollbeamte kurz ins Auto geschaut, das wars, keine Schrank- oder Kühlschrankkontrolle.

Diesel ist teuer, ca. 1.50€/Liter. Wir haben deshalb in Mexiko vollgetankt und mussten in Belize nicht an die Tankstelle.

Autofahren

Die drei Hauptverbindungsstraßen sind geteert, der Rest ist Schotter oder Matsch. Gerade bei Regen muss man dreimal überlegen, ob man eine matschige Passage befährt ohne das Risiko eingeht, stecken zu bleiben. Auch scheinbar kleine Pfützen können sehr tief werden, hier ist große Vorsicht angesagt. In Ortschaften gibt es die aus Mexiko bekannten Topes, die hier Bumps genannt werden. Allerdings deutlich seltener und gut beschildert. Die Beschilderung ist ausreichend, die Hauptrichtungen sind immer angegeben.

Essen und Trinken

Das typischste Gericht sind Reis mit Bohnen, zusammen in einem großen Topf gekocht. Dazu gibt es wahlweise Rind- oder Hähnchenfleisch. Diese Mahlzeit bekommt man günstig und in großer Menge an Straßenständen, ansonsten liegen die Restaurantpreise auf mittlerem europäischem Niveau. In Belize wird hervorragender Rum hergestellt, dieser ist auch günstig erhältlich. Bier ist teuer, Wein sehr teuer.

Einkaufen ist kein Problem, es gibt alles in ausreichender Auswahl, die Preise sind allerdings deutlich höher als in Mexiko. Trinkwasser wird in 5-Gallonen-Kanistern verkauft, für ca. 2,50$. Diese gibt es überall zu kaufen.

Sicherheit

Belize gilt als verhältnismäßig sicheres Reiseland. Wir wurden öfters vor Taschendieben in Belize City gewarnt, auch Autoeinbrüche kommen dort wohl öfters vor. Aufgrund der vielen unbeleuchteten Radfahrer und Tiere auf den Straßen sollte man nicht nachts fahren.

Klima

Wir waren im Dezember dort und es hätte trocken sein sollen. Da die Regenzeit aber Überstunden machte, regnete es fast die ganze Zeit und es war feuchtheiß. Der Regen kam in tropischen Dimensionen: wenn es regnete, dann gleich richtig.

Reisetipps mit Kindern

Es gibt viele Höhlentouren, Dschungelexkursionen und so weiter – alles toll, wenn die Kinder etwas größer sind. Für kleinere Kinder ist nichts Besonderes geboten, es gibt hier und da einen Spielplatz, der aber meist nicht besonders gepflegt ist. Die Belizern waren gegenüber unseren Kindern recht gleichgültig, bei unserer Affenexkursion hat der Führer keine besondere Rücksicht darauf genommen, dass zwei Kleinkinder dabei sind. Nach soviel Kinderfreundlichkeit in Mexiko war Belize diesbezüglich eine deutliche Abwechslung.

Übernachtungsplätze

Hier ist eine Karte mit allen unseren Übernachtungsplätzen in Mittelamerika, hier ist Auflistung der einzelnen Plätze inklusive GPS Koordinaten, Kosten und Kommentaren und hier ist die zugehörige gpx-Datei zum Download.

In Belize gibt es einige Campingplätze, die zum Teil aber maßlos überteuert sind. Auf Nebenstraßen in Dörfern, auf Parkplätzen oder an der Küste kann man problemlos übernachten. Die größte Belästigung waren die vielen Moskitos und Sandfliegen. Gutes Spray und Mückengitter stellen eine bedingt gute  Lösung dar, da die kleinen Fliegen teilweise durch die Maschen schlüpfen. Die Sandfliegen kommen in den niedrigen Landesteilen vor allem in Wassernähe und auf Wiesen vor und sind ein schmerzhaftes Übel. Hier hilft nur die Flucht ins Inland. Die Verwendung von Mückensprays ist so oder so begrenzt, da die Haut nach einiger Zeit empfindlich reagiert. Deshalb sind lange, helle Kleider die beste Lösung.

Einzelbeiträge

Bildergalerien

Hinterlasse eine Antwort

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert *

CAPTCHA-Bild

*

Du kannst folgende HTML-Tags benutzen: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>