Category Archives: Reisebericht

Los Cabos – The Southern tip of Baja

After our days in La Ventana, the next thing on our agenda was driving around the southern tip of Baja – Los Cabos, known as a place of retreat and resort paradise for richAmericans. At first, we had planned to drive around the entireEast Cape since it is supposed to be especially beautiful. The first part of the stretch, however, turned out Read More

Heading south along serene beaches and across wild mountains

Shortly after we had reached Baja Sur, the southern part of the peninsula Baja California, we took a special detour to San Francisco de la Sierra. Long ago, the people living here far above the surrounding desert immortalized their impressions in cave paintings. Fortunately for Read More

North Baja – Cactus, Dream Beaches, and Uninhabited Regions

North Baja – Cactus, Dream Beaches, and Uninhabited Regions In Tijuana, a massive fence marks the border between the USA and its southern neighbor Mexico. Directly after crossing the border, we find ourselves in a different world: the streets are narrower, people walk along the Read More

On The Panamericana

After two days of sightseeing and shopping, we had enough of being in a big city (and this was one we had visited before) and left San Francisco via the Golden Gate Bridge. This was the first time that we were actually driving along the Read More

From volcanoes through deserts and mountains to the Pacific

We have traveled a long way since our last blog entry about Oregon and have done so much in that time. After hiking up Mount Bachelor, we drove further south along the Cascades Lakes Scenic Byway – through vast forests and along many beautiful dark Read More

The Northwest – ancient forests and snow-covered volcanoes

Still in Canada, we took a break for a day of rock-climbing in Squamish on the way to Vancouver. The children played nicely at the foot of the towering rock in the woods while we were finally able to make use of our climbing gear. Read More

Banff – or the Bernese Alps?

Since we couldn’t find any place to stay at Lake Louise, we drove on to Banff, where there was room for us on a gigantic camping site located in at a lovely place in the woods. In the afternoon, we walked through the tranquil city Read More

Into the Rockies!

We had toured the Rockies for a few days without seeing the image put into our heads by magazines and advertisements. Then, on our way north through Montana, we enjoyed the views of high mountains on the horizon so much that we decided to take Read More

Yellowstone – high mountains, wild animals and endless wilderness

After our long drive through the Wild West, it was time to see some mountains again. We took the Beartooth Pass and set a new high mark with our Bremach: the elevation of the pass is more than 3300m (a little more than 2 miles) Read More

From the Plains to the Mountains

We have done lots of driving since we left Chicago because we wanted to get across the Great Plains quickly since there is not much to see and do there. The vast expanse of the Great Plains was, however, very impressive – only fields and Read More

Category Archives: Reisebericht

Los Cabos – die Südspitze Bajas

Nach unseren Tagen in La Ventana stand die Umrundung der Südspitze Bajas bevor – unter dem Namen Los Cabos als Rückzugsort für reiche Amerikaner und als Resortparadies bekannt. Zuvor hatten wir vor, das gesamte East Cape zu umrunden, da dies von besonderer Schönheit sein soll. Read More

Entlang von Traumstränden und durch wilde Berge in den Süden

Kurz nachdem wir Baja Sur, den südlichen Teil der Halbinsel Baja California erreicht hatten, machten wir einen besonderen Abstecher nach San Francisco de la Sierra. Weit oberhalb der umliegenden Wüste lebten vor langer Zeit Menschen und verewigten Ihre Eindrücke in Form von Höhlenmalereien. Zum Glück Read More

Baja Nord – Kakteen, Pisten, Traumstrände und Menschenleere

In Tijuana trennt ein massiver Grenzzaun die USA von ihrem südlichen Nachbarn Mexiko. Gleich nach dem Grenzübertritt befinden wir uns in einer anderen Welt: die Straßen sind enger, Menschen laufen an den Autobahnen entlang und überqueren sie, alles ist staubiger und dreckiger. Nun hat das Read More

Auf der Panamericana

Nach zwei Tagen Sightseeing und Shopping hatten wir genug Großstadt (wir kannten die Stadt auch schon) und verließen San Francisco über die Golden Gate Bridge. Das war zugleich das erste Mal, dass wir auf der klassischen Panamericana fuhren. Wir sind dann gleich noch über ein Read More

Von Vulkanen durch Wüsten und Berge an den Pazifik

Seit unserem letzten Beitrag aus Oregon sind wir ein gutes Stück weitergekommen und haben unterwegs viel unternommen und erlebt. Nachdem wir auf dem Mount Bachelor waren, sind wir auf dem Cascades Lakes Scenic Byway weiter gen Süden gefahren – durch weite Wälder und entlang vieler Read More

Der Nordwesten – archaische Wälder und schneebedeckte Vulkane

Noch in Kanada, haben wir auf dem Weg nach Vancouver einen Klettertag in Squamish eingelegt. Die Kinder haben schön am Fuße der Felsen im Wald gespielt, während wir endlich unsere Kletterausrüstung einsetzen konnten. Das werden wir woanders auf jeden Fall wiederholen, da sowohl für uns Read More

Banff – oder Berner Oberland?

Nachdem wir in Lake Louise keine Übernachtungsmöglichkeit gefunden haben, sind wir nach Banff gefahren, wo auf einem riesigen und sehr schön im Wald gelegenem Zeltplatz noch ein Plätzchen für uns frei war. Nachmittags sind wir durch das beschauliche Banff spaziert, welches uns stark an Interlaken Read More

Ab in die Rockies!

Wir sind schon einige Tage in den Rocky Mountains unterwegs gewesen, aber was wir bisher gesehen haben, entsprach nicht ganz dem Bild, das wir aus Zeitschriften und der Werbung kannten. Auf unserer Fahrt nach Norden durch Montana sahen wir am Horizont immer hohe Berge und Read More

Yellowstone – Hohe Berge, wilde Tiere und endlose Wildnis

Nach unserer langen Fahrt durch den Wilden Westen wurde es Zeit, wieder ein paar Berge zu sehen. Wir sind über den Beartooth Pass gefahren und haben mit unserem BREMACH eine erste Höhenmarke geschafft – die Passhöhe ist auf über 3300m! Um die Höhe etwas genießen Read More

Von der Ebene in die Berge

Seit Chicago haben wir viel Strecke gemacht. Wir wollten möglichst schnell durch die Great Plains durch, da es dort nicht so viel zu sehen und zu machen gibt. Die Weite der Great Plains war aber sehr beeindruckend, überall Felder und dazwischen immer wieder eine Farm. Read More