Author Archives: Max

The Emeralds of Rio Minero

In the middle of Columbia, on the western slope of the East Corderillas, there is the largest deposit of emeralds in the world. About half of all the emeralds traded world-wide come from this region, among them also the biggest and most precious stones. The Read More

Shipping our vehicle from Panama to Columbia

We shipped our vehicle per RoRo from Colon (Puerto de Manzanillo) to Cartagena using the SC-Line shipping company. We didn’t use any help from agents, and all the following descriptions are based on our experiences in doing it by ourselves, so we don’t know if Read More

The Trip to Panama

“The Trip to Panama” (in German: “Oh how beautiful Panama is”) Who knows how many travel blogs have used the title of this popular children’s book by Janosch, but, before we get to Panama, here are some photos of our last few days in Costa Read More

Nicoya Peninsula

We had only barely arrived in Costa when we already found ourselves in the rain forest – high trees, birds chirping, and short, but heavy rain showers gave rise to the feeling of being right in the middle of the jungle. Since we had made Read More

One day, two borders, three countries

One day, two borders, three countries Completely relaxed, we left the wonderful, sandy Salvadorian beach early in the morning and drove southwards along the Carretera Interamericana for the first time. We weren’t attracted to Honduras, but we weren’t able to avoid it on our way Read More

Welcome to El Salvador

The border crossing between Guatemala and El Salvador turned out to be surprisingly easy. We had chosen the small border crossing of Angiatu, which is off the beaten track of the large main routes and thus rather quiet. There was no long line, no stress, Read More

Rio Dulce

Our location at “Bruno’s“ in Rio Dulce turned out to be an excellent one. Rio Dulce is considered the safest harbor in the Caribbean, and some boaters and sailors always met at the bar. Gradually, more “over-landers” also arrived, and we were able to exchange Read More

Laguna Bacalar

We had great hopes for our stay at Laguna Bacalar, a fresh water lake with Caribbean-colored water, palms, and long piers, with white sand and camping directly next to the water. Instead, we had an unpleasantly wet surprise: brown-green water, muddy meadows, and flooded piers Read More

The Mountainous Country of Chiapas

Since we had taken more time everyplace than planned, it took us longer that thought to arrive at San Cristobal de las Casas, the most interesting city in Chiapas. San Cristobal is located in a high valley at an altitude of more than 6,560 feet Read More

Beachtime in Zipolite and sightseeing in Tuxtla

Our time in Zipolite was wonderful. We stayed at a great sandy beach directly next to shady palm huts and jumped into the pleasantly warm water of the Pacific to cool off a bit whenever we wanted to. Zipolite is somewhat off the beaten track, Read More

Author Archives: Max

Die Smaragde vom Rio Minero

Mitten in Kolumbien, am Westhang der Ostkorderillen, befindet sich das größte Smaragdvorkommen der Welt. Etwa die Hälfte aller weltweit gehandelten Smaragde kommen aus dieser Region, darunter auch die größten und wertvollsten Steine. Der wichtigste Ort der Gegend heißt Muzo, bis vor einigen Jahren war eine Read More

Verschiffung Panama-Kolumbien

Wir haben unser Auto per RoRo von Colon (Puerto de Manzanillo) nach Cartagena verschifft, Schifffahrtsgesellschaft war SC-Line. Wir haben auf Hilfe durch Agenten verzichtet, alle folgenden Beschreibungen basieren auf diesen Erfahrungen, wir wissen nicht, ob diese so uneingeschränkt auch bei anderen Gesellschaften gelten. Grundsätzlich gilt Read More

Oh wie schön ist Panama

Fast schon langweilig – wer weiß, für wie viele Reiseblogs dieser Buchtitel bereits herhalten musste. Bevor es nach Panama geht gibt es erstmal ein paar Bilder von unseren letzten Tagen in Costa Rica. Wir blieben an einem herrlichen, weißen Sandstrand mit reichlich behangenen Kokosnüssen und Read More

Nicoya Halbinsel

Kaum in Costa Rica angekommen landeten wir auch schon im Regenwald – hohe Bäume, Vogelgezwitscher und kurze, starke Regenschauer ließen richtiges Dschungelfeeling aufkommen. Da wir mit Tanjas Schwester Natalie verabredet waren hatten wir leider nicht viel Zeit, den Dschungel zu erkunden und mussten weiter in Read More

Ein Tag, zwei Grenzen, drei Länder

Völlig entspannt entglitten wir früh morgens dem feinen salvadorianischen Sandstrand und fuhren zum ersten Mal auf der „Caratera Interamericana“ gen Süden. Uns zog es nicht nach Honduras, da es jedoch auf dem Weg liegt, blieb uns die Durchfahrt nicht erspart. Die Grenzen genießen bei Reisenden Read More

Willkommen in El Salvador

Der Grenzübergang zwischen Guatemala und El Salvador stellte sich als überraschend einfach heraus. Wir hatten uns den kleinen Grenzübergang Angiatu ausgesucht, der abseits der großen Hauptrouten liegt und daher ziemlich ruhig ist. Es gab keinen Stau, keinen Stress und keine fleißigen Helfer, die sich unbedingt Read More

Rio Dulce

Unser Standort bei „Bruno’s“ in Rio Dulce stellte sich als hervorragend heraus. Rio Dulce gilt als der sicherste Hafen der Karibik und einige Segler trafen sich auch an der Bar. Und nach und nach trafen auch andere Overlander ein und wir konnten uns gut austauschen. Read More

Laguna Bacalar

Wir hatten uns viel von der Laguna Bacalar erhofft. Ein Süßwassersee mit Karibikfarben, Palmen und langen Stegen, dazu weißer Sand und Campen direkt am Wasser. Stattdessen gab es eine feuchte Überraschung. Braun-grünes Wasser, schlammige Wiesen und überflutete Stege und Strände. Seit dem Ende der Regenzeit Read More

Das Bergland von Chiapas

Da wir uns überall etwas mehr Zeit ließen als gedacht, kamen wir erst später nach San Cristobal de las Casas, der interessantesten Stadt in Chiapas. San Cristobal liegt in einem Hochtal auf über 2000m und die Straße von Tuxtla steigt erst langsam, dann aber doch Read More

Strandleben in Zipolite und Sightseeing in Tuxtla

Unsere Zeit in Zipolite war wunderbar. Wir wohnten an einem herrlichen Sandstrand direkt neben schattenspendenden Palmenhüttchen und sprangen gelegentlich in die angenehm warmen Wasser des Pazifiks, um uns etwas abzukühlen. Zipolite ist etwas abgelegen und es leben viele alt 68er hier, entsprechend herrscht eine völlig Read More