Shipping our vehicle from Panama to Columbia

We shipped our vehicle per RoRo from Colon (Puerto de Manzanillo) to Cartagena using the SC-Line shipping company. We didn’t use any help from agents, and all the following descriptions are based on our experiences in doing it by ourselves, so we don’t know if they might apply unconditionally for other companies. Basically valid for the entire process is that anywhere you need copies, you also have to have the originals with you, of course. GPS coordinates for the contact points can be downloaded here. In advance, we had very constructive contacts with the SC-Line office in Panama City after we had made a booking request on the online form of their homepage Onlineformular . Just one hour after sending in the form, we received the offer and, right after we had agreed to it, the booking confirmation was in our mailbox. We received offers for two ships and were able to make a very short-term decision for a date. Five e-mails at the most were all we needed, and it was only so many because the dimensions of the vehicle were wrong in the beginning.

Delivery in Colon

In Panama City, you have to go to the police department (D.I.J.) There is no preparation necessary for this, and you only need to know the port of destination and the shipping company. You have to appear there at 9 a.m. for the papers and the vehicle identification number and then again in the afternoon to pick up the new papers. It is pretty difficult to find the parking lot for the check, and it is not in the best area, which is why we have listed the GPS coordinates (N8 57.995 W79 32.701). In order to register, you go around the building to the entrance. Then you are free to go back to your vehicle, and nothing happens for a while until an official appears to check the vehicle. It is probably important to open the hood of the vehicle when you arrive, so that the motor can cool down. In addition, all the papers have to be correct, especially the vehicle identification number. Upon successful completion of the check, the kind sir takes one each of the following copies:

  • the driver’s passport and the owner’s passport, if they are different
  • the registration papers
  • the temporary import confirmation

From 2 p.m. on, you go to the office on the other side of the main street and pick up your new paper. There are a lot of parking spots in front of the building (N8 57.947 W79 32.719). You don’t need to wait in line, but can go directly to the glass construction to exchange a visitor pass for an I.D. (not the passport – you still need that). To get the paper, one each of the following copies is necessary once again:

  • the driver’s passport and the vehicle owner’s passport, if they are different
  • the registration papers
  • the temporary import confirmation

The inspection confirmation is valid for one week, so you can have the vehicle inspected at the earliest one week before you hand it over at the harbor.
The next day, I drove to the shipping company to pay and received a provisional BOL (Bill Of Lading). It is recommended to pay the bill in Panama since no VAT tax has to be paid there – but it does in Columbia. This can also be taken care of on the same day as the police inspection. The office of the SC-Line is located in the city district of Costa del Este, which taxi drivers are not very familiar with. It is best to take along a map and show the driver where you want to go. If you drive there yourself, avoid the “Coredor Sur“ since you need to buy a rechargeable card which costs $10, in addition to the highway toll. For that reason alone, it is worth it to take a taxi.
In Colon, you first have to go to the customs office outside of the harbor (Aduana), then to the customs office in the harbor (Aduana de Puerto). The first customs office is located next to a large entranceway which you are not allowed to drive through, so you have to park on the right side of the street. For us, there was a construction zone there, so it was pretty chaotic. If you don’t find the office right away, ask the guards at the big gate, and they will show you the way. For customs, you need three copies of each of the following documents:

  • the driver’s passport and the vehicle owner’s passport, if they are different
  • the registration papers
  • the temporary import confirmation
  • the provisional Bill Of Lading
  • the documents from the police inspection

With these, you get your export certificate. Here, it is important to have the vehicle stamped out of your passport.
The office for harbor customs is near the big harbor entrance in the harbor of Manzanillo. Simply drive to the gate and ask the guard to show you where to go. Have the documents stamped at customs, then pay the parking and security charges at the window directly next door (“Almacenaje“). You get a receipt, which you will need later. Then you go to the shipping agent’s office (for us, it was Panama Agencies, first staircase near the cash machine, second floor) and get more stamps on the BOL. The building with the agencies is next to the customs building, and a canteen is downstairs in it. Now you have all the papers and can deliver the vehicle.
Drive to the RoRo terminal, park in front of the fence, and announce that you would like to deliver the vehicle. You have to be sure to make it clear that you only want to go to the counter and not into the security area of the harbor – otherwise you need safety boots. At the counter, the papers are checked, and then one person is allowed to move the vehicle to the other side of the fence. No more of the luggage in the vehicle is allowed to leave the harbor! Wait next to the vehicle because there is possibly a short check of the vehicle for drugs in it (for us, there was even a dog), and the condition of the vehicle is documented. Then you hand over the keys, and the vehicle is driven away. This was the only place where we had to wait a bit. Then you have to go back to the counter and wait there until you receive the confirmation of the vehicle check. You get two papers, and that is it – now you have earned one bottle (or maybe a lot of bottles) of cool Panama beer. The whole process took us about three hours, so it is manageable. The harbor closes at 3:30 p.m., so you should arrive there in the morning in any case.
Before we handed over our vehicle, we took out everything that wasn’t nailed or screwed down (radio, children’s car seats, etc.) and stored it in the back cabin. When we picked up the vehicle, we noticed that someone had looked under the rear seat, but since there was nothing to take, nothing was missing.
Then we took a taxi to the bus terminal ($7). After a nice conversation with our taxi driver, he offered to drive us to our hotel in Panama City for $50. Since this was a very fair price, that is just what we did. The train, for example, would have cost more, and then we would still have had the drive to the terminal and to the hotel.
Costs in Panama:

  • shipping: US$ 860
  • harbor fees RoRo terminal: US$ 58
  • taxi transfers (Colon, airport, miscellaneous): US$100
  • hotel for two nights in Panama City: US$ 125
  • flight to Cartagena with Copa Airlines for two adults and two children: US$ 1460

Pick-up in Cartagena

Upon arrival in Cartagena, the first place to go is the office of Jans Mar in Manga since this is where you get the final Bill of Lading. Moreover, you are informed of the arrival date of the ship. It should be noted for here and for all the other places that there is always a two-hour lunch break from 12 noon to 2 p.m. during which no work at all is done. Afterwards, you go to Sociedad Portuario with the new BOL and head for the little, modern-looking glass construction somewhat in front of the big entrance gate. Tell the receptionist that you would like to go to “Atencione al Cliente“ to pick up a vehicle, show her your passport, and get an entry pass. After that, go through the turnstile and through the first door to the right. Then turn right immediately, go past the lines of people waiting, and walk through the little door, so you can present what you are there for. You are directed to a very competent, English-speaking man who explains the next steps and prepares the first papers. You need the following papers here: – the passport of the person listed as the shipper on the BOL and the passport of the owner of the vehicle, if this isn’t the same person

  • proof of life insurance or accidental death insurance with minimum coverage of US$25‘000!
  • The Bill of Lading
  • The vehicle papers
  • If the owner of the vehicle and the shipper are two different persons (for example, husband/wife), you need a power of attorney to pick up the vehicle. You have to write this yourself (in Spanish, of course) and then sign it in front of a notary in the old town and have it stamped by him (about. 3500COP and the passport of the person who wrote the power of attorney and his physical presence are also necessary).

Next, you have to wait until the ship has arrived and has been unloaded, which takes about half a working day. We were still at customs to register our vehicle, which we could have spared ourselves since customs subsequently misplaced our copied documents. During the waiting time, you can visit Cartagena (and get life insurance for three days, if necessary) before returning to Atencione al Cliente at the pre-arranged time. This is where all the papers are finished, the harbor fees (dependent on the vehicle) are paid, and notification of the time for customs inspection (6.30 a.m. or 2 p.m.) is given. Then you go to DIAN (which closes at 5 p.m.!), right around the corner from the harbor and ask how to get to customs (Aduana), where you state what you are there for. Once again, you need the following copies:

  • the vehicle owner’s passport and entry stamp
  • the Bill of Lading
  • the vehicle papers
  • power of attorney to pick up the car, if necessary

You get a form, fill it out, and make several copies of it in the copy shop across the street. You can make one copy for yourself in order to get vehicle insurance more quickly. Then take the copies back and say which inspection time you want. Once it is confirmed, the first part is done. Now anyone with the remaining copy of the customs paper can go to a vehicle insurance agency in the old town (for example, Seguro de Estado, Edifico Banco de Bogota, Centro, Cra. 8, 8 Piso) and take out a policy for the number of months desired.
At the pre-arranged time for the customs inspection, you go to the harbor Contecar (first entrance) and always keep to the left. At the end, near a white building with a turnstile, you go left to a small building (Control de Acseso), where you receive your entry pass. For this, you need the clearance paper which you got at the other harbor and also identification (not your passport). Then you go to Atencione al Cliente and follow the directions given to you. There are a lot of security personnel here who are very helpful. After the inspection (the vehicle identification number is checked, and they look into the vehicle briefly), you hand in your entry pass, return to DIAN, and wait for the inspector there. As soon as he turns up (it can take some time), you get two documents – a proof of inspection and the document which you had to copy during your first visit. Check carefully to see whether all the documents have been signed on the lines provided!
With these two papers, you now go back to Sociedad Portuario and the familiar counter, where you receive your pick-up papers for Contecar after waiting a bit. With these, you drive to Contecar, this time to the big entrance and exit. Report there with your papers and identification at hand. You are picked up and driven to your vehicle, where you follow the dockworker’s instructions. On the way out, you drive past diverse check-points before you are finally allowed to drive your vehicle along Columbian streets and in the city traffic of Cartagena (have fun!), where we were very happy we had already taken out the obligatory insurance.
Here are a few more tips for Cartagena. For transportation from and to the harbor, there are various possibilities. If your hotel is in the city district of Getsemani, you can walk to the office of Jans Mar (10 minutes) and to the harbor in another 20-25 minutes. Customs is about 10 minutes away from the harbor. Contecar is a half-hour drive from Getsemani. The fastest means of transportation is by mototaxi – recognizable because the driver has a second helmet with him for his passenger and keeps on honking his horn as he drives by. Mototaxis are cheap, but the ride can be adventurous. If you have to get back and forth from customs to the harbor, this is the way to go. To get from the harbor back to the city, you can take a bus across from the harbor (1‘800COP); they all go towards the city center. Another alternative is to rent a bike for the day you take care of all the paperwork (our hostel had some to rent out). There are usually masses of taxis available, and a ride from the center to Contecar costs about 18‘000COP and between Sociedad Portuario and Contecar about 12‘000. The prices are usually negotiable.
It is recommendable for the vehicle owner and the shipper to be the same person – this simplifies the customs process tremendously and saves having a notary. The life insurance needed at the harbor can be taken out with any agency, and the proof of insurance in paper form is accepted without any further checking.
Costs in Cartagena:

  • notarized power of attorney: 3‘500COP
  • harbor fees: 214‘480COP (calculation basis of US$104)
  • transfers: approx. 40‘000COP
  • four nights in a family room: 280‘000COP

Looking back on it, shipping the vehicle and the preparation for it was time-consuming, but manageable. In Panama, the process is fast and trouble-free, whereas, in Cartagena, you have to change stations often, so it all takes longer. Everyone we had to do with was very helpful and was willing to explain each step again if anything was unclear. The bureaucracy for picking up the vehicle consists of customs and harbor regulations whose processing is connected with some time expenditure. The only thing that often helps is remaining calm and waiting. In any case, you will get your vehicle at some time. If not today, then mañana! For questions, just send an e-mail to Max.

6 Thoughts on “Shipping our vehicle from Panama to Columbia

  1. Top Anleitung – war somit auch für uns kein Problem ohne Agenten zu verschiffen.
    Vielen, vielen Dank!

  2. sehr schöne Anleitung, würde das in die andere Richtung von Kolumbien nach Panama genauso funktionieren?

    Gruß Tom

  3. Hola, Nos encontramos en Minca y admiramos mucho a tu familia, tu aventura y tu camion!!! Tengo una foto que nos gustaria enviarte!!!

  4. Klingt ja abenteuerlich… Kann man nicht einfach mit dem Auto auf dem Schiff mitfahren, so wie bei einer Fähre?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CAPTCHA Image

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Post Navigation

Verschiffung Panama-Kolumbien

Wir haben unser Auto per RoRo von Colon (Puerto de Manzanillo) nach Cartagena verschifft, Schifffahrtsgesellschaft war SC-Line. Wir haben auf Hilfe durch Agenten verzichtet, alle folgenden Beschreibungen basieren auf diesen Erfahrungen, wir wissen nicht, ob diese so uneingeschränkt auch bei anderen Gesellschaften gelten. Grundsätzlich gilt für den ganzen Prozess: überall, wo man Kopien braucht, sind natürlich auch die Originale mitzuführen. GPS-Koordinaten von den Anlaufstellen gibt es hier zum Download.
Vorab hatten wir einen sehr konstruktiven Kontakt mit dem Büro von SC-Lines in Panama City, nachdem wir auf der Homepage per Onlineformular  eine Buchungsanfrage gestellt hatten. Bereits eine Stunde nach der Anfrage war das Angebot da und kaum hatten wir zugesagt hatten wir auch schon eine Buchungsbestätigung im Postfach. Wir hatten Angebote für zwei Schiffe und konnten uns recht kurzfristig für einen Termin entscheiden. Es waren hierfür höchsten fünf Emails nötig, dies auch nur, da unsere Fahrzeugdimensionen anfangs falsch waren.

Abgabe in Colon

In Panama City muss man zur Polizeiinspektion bei D.I.J. Hierzu ist keinerlei Vorbereitung nötig, man muss lediglich den Zielhafen sowie die Reederei kennen. Man muss vormittags um neun Uhr zur Kontrolle der Papiere und der Fahrgestellnummer, nachmittags zum Abholen der neuen Papiere kommen. Der Parkplatz für die Kontrolle ist etwas schwer zu finden und nicht gerade in der besten Gegend, daher anbei die GPS-Koordinaten (N8 57.995 W79 32.701). Um sich anzumelden, geht man ums Gebäude herum und zum Eingang hinein. Danach kann man zurück zum Fahrzeug und es passiert erstmal nichts, bis irgendwann ein Beamter auftaucht und kontrolliert. Wichtig ist wohl, gleich bei Ankunft die Motorhaube zu öffnen, damit der Motor abkühlt. Außerdem müssen alle Papiere stimmen, insbesondere die Fahrgestellnummer. Nach erfolgter Kontrolle nimmt der gute Herr folgende Kopien (je eine) mit:

  • Pass von Fahrer und Fahrzeugbesitzer, falls abweichend
  • Zulassungspapiere
  • Temporäre Einfuhrbestätigung

Nachmittags geht man dann ab 14 Uhr zum Büro auf der anderen Seite der Hauptstraße und holt sein neues Papier ab. Es gibt viele Parkplätze vor dem Gebäude (N8 57.947 W79 32.719). Man muss nicht in der Schlange anstehen sondern kann direkt am Glashäuschen einen Besucherausweis gegen eine ID (nicht den Pass, den braucht man noch) eintauschen. Um das Papier zu bekommen, sind nochmals folgende Kopien (je eine) nötig:

  • Pass von Fahrer und Fahrzeugbesitzer, falls abweichend
  • Zulassungspapiere
  • Temporäre Einfuhrbestätigung

Die Inspektionsbestätigung ist eine Woche gültig, man kann also frühestens eine Woche bevor man das Auto am Hafen abgibt die Inspektion durchführen lassen.
Am nächsten Tag bin ich zur Reederei gefahren und habe bezahlt sowie ein vorläufiges BOL (Bill Of Lading) bekommen. Es empfiehlt sich, die Rechnung noch in Panama zu bezahlen, da dort keine Mehrwertsteuer fällig wird – in Kolumbien dagegen schon. Dies kann auch am gleichen Tag wie die Polizeiinspektion erledigt werden. Das Büro von SC-Line befindet sich im Stadtteil Costa del Este, die Taxifahrer kennen sich dort nicht so gut aus. Am besten, man nimmt eine Karte mit und zeigt dem Fahrer, wo man hinmöchte. Wenn man selber fährt sollte man den „Coredor Sur“ vermeiden, da man dort eine wiederaufladbare Karte kaufen muss, die einmalig 10$ kostet, zusätzlich zur Autobahngebühr. Schon alleine deshalb lohnt sich ein Taxi.
In Colon muss man zuerst zum Zoll außerhalb des Hafens (Aduana), danach zum Zoll im Hafen (Aduana de Puerto). Das erste Zollbüro befindet sich neben einer großen Einfahrt, man darf dort nicht reinfahren sondern muss rechts am Straßenrand parken. Bei uns war da eine Baustelle und es war ziemlich chaotisch. Wenn man das Büro nicht gleich findet, bei den Wachmännern am großen Tor nachfragen, die zeigen einem den Weg. Beim Zoll benötigt man je drei Kopien der folgenden Dokumente:

  • Pass von Fahrer und Besitzer, falls abweichend
  • Zulassungspapiere
  • Temporäre Einfuhrbestätigung
  • Vorläufiges Bill Of Lading
  • Dokument von der Polizeiinspektion

Damit erhält man seine Ausfuhrbescheinigung. Wichtig ist hier, dass man sich das Fahrzeug auch aus dem Pass ausstempeln lässt.
Der Hafenzoll ist bei der großen Hafeneinfahrt in den Hafen von Manzanillo. Einfach zum Tor reinfahren und den Wachmann fragen, der zeigt einem, wo es lang geht. Am Zoll die Dokumente abstempeln lassen, danach direkt zum Fenster nebenan („Almacenaje“) und Park- und Sicherheitsgebühren bezahlen. Da bekommt man eine Quittung, die man später benötigt. Anschließen geht man zum Büro der Verschiffungsagenten (bei uns war das Panama Agencies, erstes Treppenhaus beim Geldautomat, erster Stock) und bekommt weitere Stempel auf das BOL. Das Gebäude mit den Agenturen ist neben dem Zollgebäude, unten drin ist eine Kantine. Nun hat man alle Papiere und kann das Fahrzeug abgeben.
Zum RoRo-Terminal fahren, vor dem Zaun parken und dort melden, dass man das Auto abgeben möchte. Man muss klarmachen, dass man nur zum Schalter will und nicht in den Sicherheitsbereich des Hafens muss – sonst braucht man Sicherheitsschuhe. Am Schalter werden die Papiere kontrolliert und anschließend darf eine Person das Auto auf die andere Seite des Zaunes bewegen. Alles, was nun noch an Gepäck im Auto ist, darf den Hafen nicht mehr verlassen! Beim Auto warten, eventuell erfolgt eine kurze Drogen- und Fahrzeugkontrolle (bei uns sogar mit Hund) und der Zustand des Fahrzeuges wird dokumentiert. Danach übergibt man die Schlüssel und das Fahrzeug wird weggefahren. Dies war die einzige Station, an der wir etwas warten mussten. Nun muss man wieder zum Schalter und dort warten, bis man die Bestätigung der Fahrzeugkontrolle erhält. Man bekommt zwei Papiere und das wars, nun hat man sich ein(oder viele) kühles Panamabier verdient. Der ganze Prozess hat bei uns ca. drei Stunden gedauert, ist also überschaubar. Um 15.30Uhr schließt der Hafen, daher sollte man auf jeden Fall vormittags ankommen.
Bevor wir unser Auto abgegeben haben, haben wir alles, was nicht niet- und nagelfest ist (Radio, Kindersitze, usw.) ausgebaut und in der Kabine verstaut. Bei der Abholung haben wir zumindest festgestellt, dass jemand unter die Rückbank geschaut hat. Da es aber nicht zu holen gab hat auch nichts gefehlt.
Wir haben dann ein Taxi zum Busterminal genommen (7$), nach einem netten Gespräch hat uns der Taxifahrer angeboten, uns für 50$ nach Panama City zum Hotel zu fahren. Das war ein sehr fairer Preis und wir haben das glatt gemacht. Der Zug hätte beispielsweise mehr gekostet und dann hätten wir immer noch die Fahrten zum Terminal und zum Hotel gehabt.
Kosten in Panama:

  • Verschiffung: US$ 860
  • Hafengebühren RoRo-Terminal: US$ 58
  • Taxitransfers (Colon, Flughafen, sonstige): US$100
  • Hotel für zwei Nächte in Panama City: US$ 125
  • Flug mit Copa Airlines nach Cartagena für zwei Erwachsene und zwei Kinder: US$ 1460

Auslösung in Cartagena

In Cartagena angekommen, führt der erste Weg zum Büro von Jans Mar in Manga, hier bekommt man das endgültige Bill of Lading. Außerdem wird man über den Ankunftstermin des Schiffes informiert. Hier, und für alle anderen Stellen gilt zu beachten, dass es immer eine zweistündige Mittagspause von 12-14Uhr gibt, in dieser Zeit geschieht überhaupt nichts. Anschließend geht man mit dem neuen BOL zum Sociedad Portuario und dort zu dem kleinen, modern aussehenden Glashäuschen welches sich etwas vor dem großen Einfahrtstor befindet. Bei der Empfangsdame sagt man, dass man zur „Atencione al Cliente“ möchte, um ein Fahrzeug abzuholen, zeigt seinen Pass und bekommt einen Zugangspass. Anschließend durchs Drehkreuz durch und zur ersten Tür rechts rein. Hier direkt rechts, an allen Warteschlangen vorbei, zur kleinen Tür rein und dort sein Anliegen vorbringen. Man wird an einen sehr kompetenten, englischsprechenden Herrn verwiesen, der einem den weiteren Prozess erklärt und die ersten Papiere vorbereitet. Hier benötigt man folgende Papiere:

  • Pass der Person, die auf dem BOL als Verschiffer aufgeführt ist, sowie ggf. des Fahrzeugeigners, sollte dieser abweichend sein.
  • Nachweis einer Lebens- oder Todesfallversicherung mit einer Mindestdeckung von US$25‘000!
  • Bill of Lading
  • Fahrzeugpapiere
  • Sollten Fahrzeugeigner und Verschiffer verschiedene Personen sein (z.B. Ehefrau/Ehemann) so benötigt man eine Abholvollmacht. Diese muss man selber schreiben (auf Spanisch natürlich) und dann bei einem Notar in der Altstadt unterschreiben und von ihm einen Stempel drauf bekommen (ca. 3500COP, Pass des Vollmachtgebers sowie dessen Anwesenheit wird benötigt).

Anschließend muss man abwarten, bis das Schiff angekommen ist und entladen wurde, was ca. einen halben Werktag dauert. Wir waren noch beim Zoll, um unser Fahrzeug anzumelden, was wir uns hätten sparen können, da der Zoll unsere kopierten Dokumente in der Folge verlegt hat. In der Wartezeit kann man sich Cartagena anschauen (und ggf. eine Lebensversicherung für drei Tage abschließen), bevor man zum vereinbarten Zeitpunkt wieder zur Atencione al Cliente zurückkehrt. Dort werden dann alle Papiere fertiggestellt, man bezahlt die Hafengebühren (Fahrzeugabhängig) und bekommt einen Termin für die Zollinspektion (6.30 oder 14Uhr). Nun begibt man sich zum DIAN (schließt um 17Uhr!), gleich um die Ecke vom Hafen. Hier fragt man sich zum Zoll (Aduana) durch und trägt sein Anliegen vor. Weiterhin benötigt man folgende Kopien:

  • Pass des Fahrzeughalter sowie des Einreisestempels
  • Bill of Lading
  • Fahrzeugpapiere
  • Ggf. Abholvollmacht

Man erhält ein Formular, füllt dieses aus und muss damit zum Copyshop gegenüber um einige Kopien zu machen. Eine Kopie kann man für sich machen um schneller an eine Fahrzeugversicherung zu kommen. Man bringt die Kopien zurück und gibt seinen Inspektionstermin an. Dieser wird bestätigt und der erste Teil ist abgeschlossen. Nun kann eine beliebige Person mit der übrigen Kopie des Zollpapieres zu einer Autoversicherung in der Altstadt (z.B. Seguro de Estado, Edifico Banco de Bogota, Centro, Cra. 8, 8 Piso) gehen und eine Versicherung für die gewünschte Anzahl von Monaten abschließen.
Zum vereinbarten Zeitpunkt der Zollinspektion begibt man sich zum Hafen Contecar (erste Einfahrt) und hält sich immer links. Am Ende, bei einem weißen Gebäude mit Drehkreuz geht man nach links zu einem Büro in einer kleinen Baracke (Control de Acseso), an dem man seinen Zugangspass erhält. Hierzu benötigt man das Freigabepapier, welches man am anderen Hafen erhalten hat, sowie einen Identitätsnachweis (nicht den Pass). Anschließend geht man zur Atencione al Cliente und folgt den Anweisungen. Es gibt hier sehr viel Sicherheitspersonal, welches sehr hilfsbereit ist. Nach der Inspektion (es wird dabei die Fahrgestellnummer kontrolliert und mal kurz ins Auto geschaut) gibt man seinen Zugangspass wieder ab, begibt sich zurück zum DIAN und wartet dort auf den Inspektor. Sobald dieser auftaucht (kann dauern) bekommt man zwei Dokumente – einen Inspektionsnachweis sowie das Dokument, welches man beim ersten Besuch kopieren musste. Prüfen, ob alle Dokumente an den vorgesehenen Stellen unterschrieben sind!
Mit den beiden Papieren geht’s nun wieder zum Sociedad Portuario und dem bekannten Schalter, wo man nach einigem Warten seine Abholpapiere für Contecar bekommt. Damit fährt man nach Contecar, diesmal zur großen Ein- und Ausfahrt. Dort melden und die Abholpapiere sowie einen Ausweis bereithalten. Man wird abgeholt, zum Fahrzeug gebracht und folgt den Anweisungen des Hafenarbeiters. Bei der Ausfahrt passiert man diverse Kontrollen, bevor man endlich sein Fahrzeug auf kolumbianische Straßen und in den Stadtverkehr von Cartagena (viel Spaß!) bewegen darf! Hier waren wir froh, die obligatorische Versicherung bereits abgeschlossen zu haben.
Noch ein paar Tipps für Cartagena. Für den Transport von und zum Hafen usw. gibt es verschiedene Möglichkeiten. Hat man ein Hotel im Stadtteil Getsemani so kann man zum Büro von Jans Mar laufen (10min), zum Hafen sind es weitere 20-25min. Der Zoll ist ca. 10min vom Hafen weg. Contecar ist eine halbe Fahrstunde weg von Getsemani. Das schnellste Transportmittel sind Mototaxis – diese erkennt man daran, dass der Fahrer einen zweiten Helm dabeihat und diese ständig hupend an einem vorbeifahren. Sie sind günstig, allerdings kann die Fahrt abenteuerlich werden. Muss es schnell zwischen Zoll und Hafen hin- und hergehen, sind diese das Mittel der Wahl. Vom Hafen zurück in die Stadt kann man gegenüber des Hafens in einen Bus steigen (1‘800COP), es fahren alle in Richtung Zentrum. Alternativ kann man sich für den Tag, an dem man nur Papierkram erledigt, ein Fahrrad leihen (unser Hostel hatte welche zum Verleih). Taxis stehen massenweise zur Verfügung und kosten für die Fahrt ab Zentrum nach Contecar ca. 18‘000COP, zwischen Sociedad Portuario und Contecar ca. 12‘000. Die Preise sind in der Regel verhandelbar.
Es empfiehlt sich, dass Fahrzeugbesitzer und Verschiffer dieselbe Person sind – das vereinfacht den Zollablauf erheblich und man spart sich den Notar. Die Lebensversicherung, die am Hafen benötigt wird, kann von einem beliebigen Anbieter stammen, der Versicherungsnachweis wird ohne weitere Überprüfung in Papierform akzeptiert.
Kosten in Cartagena:

  • Notarielle Vollmacht: 3‘500COP
  • Hafengebühren: 214‘480COP (Berechnungsbasis sind US$104)
  • Transfers: ca. 40‘000COP
  • Vier Nächte Familienzimmer: 280‘000COP

Rückblickend war die Verschiffung und deren Vorbereitung eine aufwändige, aber überschaubare Angelegenheit. In Panama läuft der Prozess schnell und reibungslos ab, in Cartagena muss man oft die Station wechseln und es dauert alles etwas länger. Alle Personen, mit denen wir zu tun hatten, waren sehr hilfsbereit und haben, wenn etwas unklar war, jeden Schritt nochmals erklärt. Die Bürokratie zur Auslösung des Fahrzeuges besteht aus Zoll- und Hafenregularien, deren Abarbeitung mit etwas Zeitaufwand verbunden ist. Es hilft oft nur, ruhig zu bleiben und zu warten, irgendwann bekommt man sein Fahrzeug auf jeden Fall. Wenn nicht heute, dann mañana! Bei Fragen eine Email an Max schicken.

6 Thoughts on “Verschiffung Panama-Kolumbien

  1. Top Anleitung – war somit auch für uns kein Problem ohne Agenten zu verschiffen.
    Vielen, vielen Dank!

  2. sehr schöne Anleitung, würde das in die andere Richtung von Kolumbien nach Panama genauso funktionieren?

    Gruß Tom

  3. Hola, Nos encontramos en Minca y admiramos mucho a tu familia, tu aventura y tu camion!!! Tengo una foto que nos gustaria enviarte!!!

  4. Klingt ja abenteuerlich… Kann man nicht einfach mit dem Auto auf dem Schiff mitfahren, so wie bei einer Fähre?

Hinterlasse eine Antwort

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert *

CAPTCHA-Bild

*

Du kannst folgende HTML-Tags benutzen: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Post Navigation