Rio Dulce

Our location at “Bruno’s“ in Rio Dulce turned out to be an excellent one. Rio Dulce is considered the safest harbor in the Caribbean, and some boaters and sailors always met at the bar. Gradually, more “over-landers” also arrived, and we were able to exchange lots of information.

We took a beautiful boat trip past the coastal city of Livingston along a very wide river whose banks are bordered with thick tropical forests and Indian- settlements. It felt almost as if we were on the Amazon. The Garifuna settlement of Livingston was great, especially for the children; they could swim in the shallow water of the Caribbean and then play with local children at the big playground. In Rio Dulce, we looked around for new clothes for the children and discovered that clothing donations from the USA were sold all over. The clothing is in such good shape that we didn’t have to buy new clothes.

Here are some private pictures.

When we returned from our excursion to Livingston, we were absolutely amazed to see the campers of the Canadian couplesMary-Jane & Lloyd und Phyllis & Freeman parked near our Bremach – we had met in Cholula, Mexico, and hadn’t seen one another since then. They were also fleeing from the rain and were very enthusiastic about our plan to avoid Honduras as much as possible. We hadn’t heard anything much good about the stretch along which we had planned to drive through Honduras, but lots of good things about El Salvador. Since New Year’s was approaching and we had had enough of all the rain, we decided rather spontaneously to drive westwards and spend New Year’s Eve on a beach along the Pacific. Along ever narrower roads, we headed through a ragged mountain landscape towards the good weather and the quiet village of Anguiatu with the border crossing located there.

Our time in Guatemala was over already. We didn’t see much of the country, but what we did see was a very positive surprise for us. The people seemed to be very friendly, we were always greeted very heartily and openly, and we never had the feeling that we were unwelcome or out of place there. The road system was surprisingly well developed (which is also due to the financial support of the EU), and the places for visitors to spend the night which we had used were very pleasant. We never felt unsafe and never met anyone who talked about bad experiences there. If we didn’t slowly feel pulled towards South America, we would certainly have spent several days more in the Guatemalan highlands.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CAPTCHA Image

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Post Navigation

Rio Dulce

Unser Standort bei „Bruno’s“ in Rio Dulce stellte sich als hervorragend heraus. Rio Dulce gilt als der sicherste Hafen der Karibik und einige Segler trafen sich auch an der Bar. Und nach und nach trafen auch andere Overlander ein und wir konnten uns gut austauschen.

Wir machten einen wunderschönen Bootsausflug an die Küstenstadt Livingston entlang eine sehr breiten Flusses, dessen Ufer von dichtem Urwald und Indianersiedlungen gesäumt sind. Es kam schon fast Amazonasfeeling auf. Die Garafuna Siedlung Livingston war dann vor allem für die Kinder toll, sie konnten im seichten Wasser der Karibik baden und danach am großen Spielplatz mit den einheimischen Kindern spielen. In Rio Dulce haben wir nach neuen Kleidern für die Kinder geschaut und dabei festgestellt, dass überall die Kleiderspenden aus den USA verkauft werden. Die Kleider sind noch in so einem guten Zustand, dass neue Kleider gar nicht nötig sind.

Hier gibt es auch wieder einige Privatbilder von uns.

Als wir von unserem Ausflug nach Livingston zurückkamen, staunten wir nicht schlecht, dass die Camper der Kanadier Mary-Jane & Lloyd und Phyllis & Freeman neben unserem Bremach standen – wir hatten uns in Cholula, Mexiko, getroffen und seither nicht mehr gesehen. Sie waren ebenfalls auf der Flucht vor dem Regen und waren von unserem Plan, Honduras weitestgehend zu meiden, sehr angetan. Wir hatten in den letzten Wochen wenig Gutes über unsere geplante Strecke durch Honduras gehört und dahingegen viel Gutes über El Salvador. Da auch Sylvester anstand und wir genug des Regens hatten fuhren wir kurzerhand zusammen gen Westen um Neujahr am Pazifikstrand zu verbringen. Auf immer kleiner werdenden Straßen ging es durch eine zerklüftete Berglandschaft dem guten Wetter entgegen zum stillen Dörfchen Anguiatu und dem dort befindlichen Grenzübergang.

Unsere Zeit in Guatemala war also schon wieder vorüber. Wir haben nicht viel gesehen vom Land, aber das, was wir sahen, hat uns positiv überrascht. Die Leute erschienen uns sehr freundlich, wir wurden immer sehr herzlich und offen begrüßt und hatten nie das Gefühl, unwillkommen oder gar fehl am Platz zu sein. Die Straßen waren überraschend gut ausgebaut (was auch an der finanziellen Unterstützung durch die EU liegt) und die Übernachtungsplätze, die wir hatten, waren sehr schön und angenehm. Wir fühlten uns nie unsicher und trafen auch niemanden, der uns über schlechte Erlebnisse berichten konnte. Würde es uns nicht langsam nach Südamerika ziehen, wir hätten sicher noch einige Tage im guatemaltekischen Hochland verbracht.

Hinterlasse eine Antwort

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert *

CAPTCHA-Bild

*

Du kannst folgende HTML-Tags benutzen: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Post Navigation