Rainy Season in Ecuador

After the loud night next to the fair in Riobamba, to the delight of the children, we ended up next to some carnival rides again the very next night, this time in Baños. This village is known for its hot springs, which we visited, of course, despite ongoing rain. Since it was Sunday, the swim was less relaxing this time, but, in exchange, we experienced a typical, Ecuadorian weekend program, right in the middle of things and close up.
In the rain, the city wasn’t very inviting for anything else, so we headed further on towards the northeast – if it was raining so much, we could go into the rain forest right away. In Tena, we were able to spend the night at the Hostel Pakay Tours and also take an excursion into the jungle the next day. In a narrow motor boat, we went downriver and deeper into the jungle along the impressively wide brown Rio Napo, one of the largest source regions of the Amazon. Indians had a display of different kinds of animal hides and preserved animals on an island, and we were even allowed to try out a blowpipe for hunting. Then we could drift down the river on tubes, which is quite an experience in the middle of the huge amounts of murky water! Since you rarely have a chance to see lots of animals in the rain forest within a short time, we took a look at some of the original inhabitants in the Amazoonico, which is an animal sanctuary and shelter for illegally held wild animals, such as parrots, monkeys, anacondas, and even jaguarundis (not much bigger than a house cat) and ocelots. Unfortunately, most of the animals cannot be released into the wilderness any more because they have become too used to people and regard them as a source for food or go to them because they were caught when they were very young and aren’t familiar with free life in nature. Before our boat began fighting its arduous way upriver against the current, we saw a big group of squirrel monkeys in the trees directly next to the river. So, at least we got to see a few genuine natives in the wild!


Then we put in several days of driving to get further south since we didn’t have much more time for Ecuador before meeting up with my sister Natalie in Peru. We spent only one night in Cuenca, where we finally had an opportunity to try hornados at the market, similar to roasted pork with dumplings and very delicious! As we continued driving south, we could see how the pork is blackened by gigantic Bunsen burners outside in the morning and then grilled over a fire. In Vilcabamba, we were able to escape from the rain for a few days. This improved the mood of all the members of our family, and the bar at the beautifully situated Hostel Izhcayluna was also a pleasant change from our normal evening program.
The only way to get from Vilcabamba to Peru directly was to continue southwards along the increasingly poor road which had been cut into the slope. In lots of places, we were confronted with were bigger or smaller mudslides, and we finally wondered whether this road (which had meanwhile turned into a track) wasn’t going to simply end up going nowhere. But no, we reached the border crossing after a steep drive down to the river, and then we saw a lovely two-lane asphalt street shining on the Peruvian side. Wait a minute; wasn’t Ecuador supposed to be the wealthier country of the two? But before we were able to get a closer look at the conditions of the streets in Peru, we had to wait three long hours in the blazing hot sun on the bridge between the borders while the intranet problems at customs were remedied and the printer was finally adjusted and could print out our documents. The barrier gate was finally raised for us to pass through, and we are looking forward to exploring a new country – Peru!

This time, too, we have a few more private family photos for you – you can look at them here.

http://rocatama.net/galerien/selva-privat/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CAPTCHA Image

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Post Navigation

Regenzeit in Ecuador

Nach der lauten Nacht neben dem Jahrmarkt in Riobamba sind wir zur Freude der Kinder gleich die nächste Nacht wieder neben einigen Fahrgeschäften gelandet, diesmal in Baños. Dieser Ort ist für seine heißen Quellen bekannt, die wir trotz immer wiederkehrendem Regen natürlich auch besuchten. Da es Sonntag war, war das Bad diesmal weniger entspannend, doch dafür erlebten wir mittendrin und hautnah ein typisches ecuadorianisches Wochenendprogramm.
Im Regen lud uns die Stadt nicht zu mehr ein und wir zogen weiter gen Nordosten – wenn es schon so viel regnet, dann können wir auch gleich in den Regenwald. In Tena konnten wir beim Hostel Pakay Tours übernachten und auch gleich am nächsten Tag eine Exkursion in den Dschungel machen. Mit einem schmalen Motorboot fuhren wir den beeindruckend breiten und braunen Rio Napo, einem der großen Quellflüsse des Amazonas, flussabwärts und tiefer in den Urwald hinein. Auf einer Insel stellten Indianer verschiedene Arten von Tierfallen und eingelegte Tiere aus und wir durften sogar mal ein Blasrohr ausprobieren. Danach durften wir uns auf Reifen den Fluss hinab treiben lassen, was mitten in den trüben Unmengen an Wasser echt ein Erlebnis ist! Da man im Regenwald selten das Glück hat, viele Tiere in kurzer Zeit anzutreffen, sahen wir uns einige der ursprünglichen Einwohner im Amazoonico an. Dies ist eine Tierauffangstation für illegal gehaltene Wildtiere wie Papageien, Affen, Anacondas und sogar Jaguarundis und Ozelote. Leider können die meisten Tiere nicht mehr wieder in die Wildnis entlassen werden, das sie sich zu sehr an Menschen gewöhnt haben und diese immer wieder als Futterquelle aufsuchen oder auch weil sie von klein auf in Gefangenschaft waren und das Leben im Freien nicht kennen. Bevor sich unser Boot wieder mühsam gegen den Strom flussaufwärts kämpfte, sahen wir noch eine große Gruppe von Totenkopfäffchen in den Bäumen direkt am Fluss. Immerhin doch noch ein paar echte Ureinwohner!


Es folgten einige Fahrtage um nach Süden zu kommen, da uns nicht mehr viel Zeit in Ecuador blieb, bevor wir uns mit meiner Schwester Natalie in Peru treffen würden. Wir verbrachten nur eine Nacht in Cuenca, wo wir allerdings auf dem Markt endlich dazu kamen, Hornado zu probieren. Ähnlich wie Schweinebraten mit Knödel und sehr lecker! Auf der Weiterfahrt konnten wir dann beobachten, wie die Schweine schon morgens mit riesigen Bunsenbrennern außen angekokelt werden und dann über dem Feuer gebraten werden. In Vilcabamba konnten wir dann doch noch für ein paar Tage dem Regen entkommen. Dies hob die Stimmung bei allen Familienmitgliedern wieder und die Bar des wunderschön angelegten Hostels Izhcayluna war auch eine angenehme Abwechslung zu unserem üblichen Abendprogramm.
Um von Vilcabamba aus direkt nach Peru zu gelangen bleibt einem nichts anderes übrig, als der immer schlechter werdenden Straße in den Süden zu folgen, die in den Hang gefräst wurde. An vielen Stellen gab es größere und kleinere Erdrutsche und am Ende fragt man sich, ob diese Straße (mittlerweile eine Piste) nicht einfach im Nirgendwo endet. Nein, der Grenzübergang ist nach einer steilen Abfahrt zum Fluss hin erreicht und auf der peruanischen Seite leuchtet einem schon eine schöne, zweispurig asphaltierte Straße entgegen. Moment mal, sollte nicht Ecuador das reichere Land sein? Bevor wir uns die Straßenverhältnisse in Peru genauer ansehen konnten, mussten wir aber noch etwa drei lange Stunden in der prallen heißen Sonne auf der Grenzbrücke stehen, bevor Intranetprobleme des Zolls behoben waren und der Drucker endlich richtig eingestellt war und unsere Papiere fürs Auto ausspuckte. Die Schranke hob sich endlich für uns und wir freuen uns auf ein neues Land – Peru!

Auch dieses Mal haben wir wieder ein paar schöne Privatbilder von uns hochgeladen – die gibt’s hier anzuschauen.

Hinterlasse eine Antwort

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert *

CAPTCHA-Bild

*

Du kannst folgende HTML-Tags benutzen: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Post Navigation