Traveling in Peru

We are having lots of fun traveling in Peru! First of all, the landscape is extremely diversified, and, as mountain-lovers, we are fascinated by the high peaks. And then, there are the Peruvians, who are incredibly friendly, lively, and colorful. And since the rainy season is over, it is great to look into the fascinatingly blue Andean sky.

The Peruvian women (in the north) are usually dressed in traditional costumes and wear several skirts on top of one another, a brightly colored top, and a lovely high hat on top of their long, thick braids. They carry children and goods in a brightly colored shawl tied onto their backs. Peruvian women often wander around with their herds of animals, busily knitting or spinning wool. Die People look up whenever we drive by and give us a friendly wave. Their faces light up in a smile, especially when they spot our children. The frequent shouts of Gringo, Gringo!“ here are friendly and well meant (in contrast to what we experienced in Mexico).

The markets are lively places, and we go to them often since there are hardly any supermarkets and the good food at the markets is usually fresher and less expensive, anyway. We meet the animals which end up at the markets along the street, colorfully mingled herds of cows, pigs, sheep, and goats, often accompanied by donkeys, horses, and dogs. At the market, you can see directly what animal the meat comes from and actually every part of the animal is sold (in addition to the usual kinds of meat, there is also freshly slaughtered guinea pig with giblets). Looking at the meat is sometimes nothing for those with weak nerves. But you can hardly wait to bite into the fresh fruit and vegetable. We keep on discovering new sorts of fruit and vegetables which we have never seen before, and the fresh juice is prepared without sugar – delicious!

Since we have been traveling mainly off the beaten route (and streets shown on maps) so far, we often have to use the milestones (actually kilometer-stones) for orientation, read from tire tracks along the way, and ask our way through different villages. There are signs every once in a while, but rarely at the critical spots. In no other country have people waiting along the way asked us so often if we have room for them. The traffic is usually very relaxed, and there are hardly any private cars; you see mainly collective taxis and an amazing number of buses on the streets. If I (Tanja) am driving, the Peruvians get very excited – a woman driving a truck is a rarity here! When I drive by, they whistle at me, but, when I make a turn, they panic (completely without cause!) because they are afraid I might knock everything over.

Spending the last few weeks wandering in the mountains at an altitude rarely under 13,000 (4000m) feet has been the most physically challenging time during our trip so far. It also means that we have spent the coldest night in our Bremach so far since our auxiliary heating usually goes on strike in the thin air, despite us adjusting various functions. Warm sleeping bags and family cuddling sessions help out!

Although we often hear that nothing bad happens in northern Peru and that it is a safe place for tourists, some Peruvians remind us that there are good and bad people everywhere. Fortunately, we have only met the good ones so far – and we hope it will remain this way!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CAPTCHA Image

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Post Navigation

Peru – Land und Leute

Es macht uns Spaß in Peru zu reisen! Zum einen ist die Landschaft abwechslungsreich und als bergliebende Menschen sind wir gefesselt von den hohen Gipfeln, zum anderen sind die Peruaner unheimlich nett, lebhaft und farbenfroh. Und da die Regenzeit vorbei ist, genießen wir es täglich, in den faszinierend blauen Andenhimmel zu blicken.

Die Peruanerinnen (im Norden) sind meist traditionell gekleidet und tragen mehrere Röcke übereinander, ein knalliges Oberteil und einen schönen hohen Hut, unter dem ihre langen Zöpfe hervorkommen. Zum Transport von Kindern und Waren binden sie sich ein knalliges Tuch auf den Rücken. Nicht selten wandert eine Peruanerin fleißig strickend oder Wolle spinnend mit ihrer Herde von Tieren herum. Die Menschen blicken auf, wenn wir vorbei fahren und einem freundlichen Winken folgt ein breites Lächeln auf dem Gesicht der Peruaner, insbesondere wenn sie unsere Kinder erblicken. Die häufigen „Gringo, Gringo!“ Rufe sind hier (anders als wir es in Mexiko erlebt haben) lieb gemeint.

Auf den Märkten geht es rege zu und wir suchen diese oft auf, da es kaum Supermärkte gibt und das Essen auf dem Markt meist sowieso frischer und preiswerter ist. Die Tiere, die später dort enden, begegnen uns oft auf der Straße als bunt zusammengemischte Herden von Kühen, Schweinen, Schafen und Ziegen, oft begleitet von Eseln, Pferden und Hunden. Auf dem Markt sieht man dann ganz direkt, von welchem Tier das Fleisch kommt und quasi jeder Teil des Tieres wird zum Verkauf angeboten (neben den üblichen Fleischsorten gibt es auch frisch geschlachtete Meerschweinchen mit Innereien). Manchmal nichts für schwache Nerven. Gleich Reinbeißen will man dagegen ins frische Obst und Gemüse. Immer wieder entdecken wir neue, uns bisher unbekannte, Obst- und Gemüsesorten und die frischen Säfte werden hier ohne Zucker zubereitet – lecker!

Da wir uns bisher hauptsächlich abseits der üblichen Routen für Touristen (und der auf Karten angegebenen Straßen) bewegt haben, mussten wir oft Kilometersteine als Orientierungshilfe zur Rate ziehen, Fahrspuren auf Pisten lesen und uns durch diverse Dörfer durchfragen. Schilder gibt es zwar auch ab und zu, aber selten an den kritischen Stellen. In keinem anderen Land sind wir so oft von Wartenden am Straßenrand gebeten worden, sie mitzunehmen. Der Verkehr ist meist recht entspannt und es gibt kaum Privatautos, hauptsächlich sind Sammeltaxis und erstaunlich viele Busse unterwegs. Wenn ich am Steuer sitze werden die Peruaner ganz aufgeregt – eine Frau, die einen LKW fährt ist hier eine Rarität! Beim Vorbeifahren wird mir hinterher gepfiffen, beim Wenden setzt (völlig unbegründete!) Panik ein, dass ich alles niedermähe.

Körperlich ist es bisher auch die herausforderndste Zeit unserer Reise, da wir uns in den letzten Wochen selten unter 4000m aufgehalten haben und fleißig gewandert sind. Dies bedeutet auch, dass wir die bisher kältesten Nächte im Bremach hatten, da unsere Standheizung trotz Anpassung diverser Werte in der dünnen Luft meist streikt. Warme Schlafsäcke und Familienkuscheln helfen!
Während wir im Norden noch häufig hörten, dass hier nichts passiere, haben touristischeren Gegenden einige Peruaner erzählt, dass es eben überall gute und schlechte Menschen gibt. Zum Glück sind uns bisher nur die ersteren begegnet – und wir hoffen, dass es so bleibt!

Hinterlasse eine Antwort

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert *

CAPTCHA-Bild

*

Du kannst folgende HTML-Tags benutzen: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Post Navigation