Sierra, Sierra Ma-a-adre, Sierra, Sierra Madre Sur

Feeling refreshed from our time at the Laguna de Catemaco, we started off towards Oaxaca. We planned a day of driving for the first time in quite a while and wanted to get as close as possible to our goal. How good that we had had time to relax – first the street went through a flood area and was full of one pothole after the other, so it wasn’t the fastest. Then we drove along Highways 175 into the mountains. This street leads into a deep valley, only to rise from 492 ft (150m) above sea level to 9,608 ft (2950m) within a mile or so. It goes up from the jungle into high pine forests, and it took our breath away – unbelievable atmospheric weather conditions, an unparalleled road system, and endless curves. We agreed that this stretch was the street-highlight of our trip so far. We kept seeing traces of powerful landslides, and yet the entire road was drivable on two lanes. Many a standard is changed here: in Europe, we admire the roads in the Alps as works of art – the roads her are more technical master strokes. It is no feat to build a bridge or a tunnel quickly with the financial means available in Europe. Here, on the other hand, the streets are truly exceptional works of art. Without bridges, without tunnels, the street constantly winds its way up along natural weak points and circumvents danger zones and insurmountable steep, rocky escarpments in a virtuoso, playful way. You can’t drive fast, of course, and between the curves you search in vain for straight stretches. Every once in a while, the ramps were so steep that we were happy we had low gears. Now and then, there is a small village that seems to be glued to the slope, and the few flat places are used agriculturally. At the end of the day, we found a great place to spend the night up on the mountain, and we were able to start off on a small hike along the mountain crest directly from there the next morning. The rest of the way was just as spectacular, and we were also very happy when we finally had all the curves behind us and arrived in Oaxaca.

Oaxaca is a big market city surrounded by lots of indigenous villages. There was a lot going on here, with the streets full of people and different kinds of markets for arts and crafts, for food, and for utensils for daily use on every corner. We enjoyed the great selection of goods and the delicious food right off the grill and were successful in our search for souvenirs. Several days previously, a French-Austrian family had contacted us per e-mail and suggested that we might happen to meet up with them – it actually worked out, and we settled in on their camping-site. We got to know Carine, Andreas, Yan, Clara, and Tobias and got along very well right away. For the children, it was great to have new friends to play with, and we had a terrific time together in Oaxaca. So terrific, that we continued traveling on together afterwards.

The Spanish also left their traces in Oaxaca and adorned the city with aristocratic churches. One of them is a real splendor – each and every curlicue and ornament is covered with gold leaf. Nothing has ever been taken away or plundered, so the incredible wealth of the Catholic Church at that time is presented to the full. Near the church, there is a magnificent museum with various ecclesiastical artifacts and one very special one – the treasure of Monte Alban. Monte Alban used to be an Incan city and is located a bit above Oaxaca on a lovely mountain with a wide view across the high plateau. It was an exception that the imperialist grave robbers overlooked one burial chamber here, and thus a splendid treasure was preserved until it was discovered by archeologists at the beginning of the last century and was made accessible to posterity. We delighted in the great objects found there, of course, and in the well done exhibition which not only presents lots of ancient treasures, but also gives detailed explanations and background history.

Naturally, we visited the big Incan sites and were very impressed by the entire complex. The atmosphere on this mountain was so peaceful and calm that we completely forgot the time until we were reminded of how long we had been there by our stomachs grumbling for lunch several hours later. Then, with full bellies and lots of new impressions, we set off on the way into the wild Sierra Madre Sur (the road continued in the same way as it had been leading to Oaxaca). We arrived at Playa Zipolite the next day, where we are now enjoying the ocean, the sun, and especially the beach with lovely palm trees on the wild Pacific.

Here are some private pictures.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CAPTCHA Image

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Post Navigation

Sierra, Sierra Ma-a-adre, Sierra, Sierra Madre Sur

Frisch erholt machten wir uns auf den Weg nach Oaxaca. Wir hatten das erste Mal seit langem einen Fahrtag geplant und wollten unserem Ziel möglichst nahe kommen. Gut, waren wir erholt – die Straße ging zuerst durch ein Überschwemmungsgebiet und war aufgrund der unendlich vielen Schlaglöcher nicht gerade die schnellste. Anschließend ging es entlang des Highways 175 in die Berge hinein. Diese Straße führt in ein tiefes Tal, um dann binnen einiger Kilometer von 150m über dem Meer auf 2950m emporzusteigen. Es geht aus dem Dschungel hinauf in große Tannenwälder und uns blieb der Atem weg – unglaublich Wetterstimmungen, eine einmalige Straßenanlage und zahllose Kurven, wir waren uns einig, diese Strecke war das bisherige Straßenhighlight unserer Reise. Immer wieder konnten wir Spuren gewaltiger Erdrutsche sehen und dennoch war die Straße durchgehend zweispurig befahrbar. Hier verrückt sich so mancher Maßstab, in Europa bewundern wir doch die Alpenstraßen als Kunstwerke – diese sind doch eher technische Meisterleistungen, es ist keine Kunst bei den vorhandenen finanziellen Mittel in Europa mal eben schnell eine Brücke oder einen Tunnel zu bauen. Hier hingegen kann man echte Straßenbaukunst bewundern. Keine Brücken, keine Tunnels, die Straße windet sich entlang natürlicher Schwachstellen stetig empor und umgeht geradezu spielend Gefahrenzonen und unüberwindbare Steilabbrüche. Schnell ist man natürlich nicht, zwischen den Kurven sucht man vergeblich nach Geraden und hin und wieder sind die Rampen so steil, dass wir uns über unsere kleinen Gänge freuten. Hin und wieder klebt ein kleines Dörfchen am Hang und die wenigen flachen Stellen werden landwirtschaftlich genutzt. Zum Abschluss des Tages fanden wir einen tollen Übernachtungslatz oben auf dem Berg und am nächsten Morgen konnten wir direkt eine kleine Wanderung entlang des Bergkammes machen. Die weitere Fahrt nach Oaxaca war nicht minder spektakulär und wir waren ganz froh, als wir dann doch mal keine Kurven mehr sahen und in Oaxaca ankamen.

Oaxaca ist eine große Marktstadt und umgeben von vielen indigenen Dörfern. Hier war mal wieder richtig was los, die Straßen voll mit Menschen und Märkte voller Kunsthandwerk, Essen und Gebrauchsgegenständen an jeder Ecke. Wir freuten uns über das gute Angebot, genossen leckeres Fleisch direkt vom Grill und suchten erfolgreich nach Souvenirs. Bereits einige Tage zuvor hatte uns eine französische-österreichische Familie per Email kontaktiert, ob wir uns zufällig treffen könnten – tatsächlich klappte es und wir zogen zu ihnen auf den Campingplatz. Wir lernten Carine, Andreas, Yan, Clara und Tobias kennen und verstanden und auf Anhieb sehr gut. Für die Kinder war es ganz toll, neue Spielgefährten zu haben und wir verbrachten zusammen eine super Zeit in Oaxaca. So gut, dass wir danach zusammen weiterreisten.

Auch in Oaxaca haben die Spanier ihre Spuren hinterlassen und die Stadt mit feudalen Kirchen geschmückt. Eine davon ist eine wahre Pracht – jeder Schnörkel, jedes Ornament ist konsequent mit Blattgold überzogen. Es wurde nie etwas weggenommen, der unglaubliche Reichtum der katholischen Kirche zu dieser Zeit wird hier in vollen Zügen ersichtlich. Neben der Kirche ist in einem prächtigen Museum neben diversen kirchlichen Exponaten vor allem eines zu sehen – der Schatz vom Monte Alban. Monte Alban ist eine ehemalige Inkastadt und liegt etwas oberhalb von Oaxaca auf einem schönen Berg mit einem weiten Blick über die Hochebene. Ausnahmsweise übersahen die imperialistischen Grabräuber hier eine Grabkammer und so blieb ein prächtiger Schatz erhalten, bis dieser Anfang des letzten Jahrhunderts von Archäologen gefunden und der Nachwelt zugänglich gemacht wurde. Wir erfreuten uns natürlich an den tollen Fundstücken und an der gelungenen Ausstellung, die neben vielen antiken Schätzen auch ausführliche Erklärungen und Hintergründe bietet.

Natürlich besuchten wir die große Inkastätte und waren von der Anlage sehr beeindruckt. Die Atmosphäre auf diesem Berg war so ruhig und friedlich, dass wir völlig die Zeit vergaßen und einige Stunden später vor allem von unseren grummelnden Mägen ans Mittagessen erinnert wurden. Mit vollen Mägen und mit vielen neuen Eindrücken machten wir uns auf den Weg in die wilde Sierra Madre Sur (die Straße ging dann genauso weiter wie sie nach Oaxaca hinführte) und kamen am nächsten Tag nach Playa Zipolite, wo wir nun an einem herrlichen Palmenstrand am wilden Pazifik das Meer, die Sonne und vor allem den Strand genießen.

Hier ist unsere Bildergalerie:

Und hier gibt es Privatbilder.

Hinterlasse eine Antwort

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert *

CAPTCHA-Bild

*

Du kannst folgende HTML-Tags benutzen: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Post Navigation