Welcome to El Salvador

The border crossing between Guatemala and El Salvador turned out to be surprisingly easy. We had chosen the small border crossing of Angiatu, which is off the beaten track of the large main routes and thus rather quiet. There was no long line, no stress, and no busy “helpers” wanting to earn a little on the side. It was also certainly helpful that it was Sunday afternoon. Beforehand, we had already made copies of all our important documents and then only had to get copies of the Guatemalan export certificate. Except for the four Quetzales for the copies, the entire border-crossing procedure cost nothing! Only filling out the endless diverse forms by hand took a certain amount of time, and even the border officials had to fill out a lot of diverse forms. Nevertheless, we managed to have everything done in less than two hours and were allowed to drive into El Salvador. El Salvador does not have an especially good reputation. The history of the country is marked by war and criminality, so a lot of travelers avoid it. However, we had heard other stories, too, and they sounded very enticing. We had hardly passed the border when the surprises began – a tremendous sunset with volcanoes on the horizon made the countryside glow in surreal colors – what a greeting. The hotel with a restaurant which where we were headed for the night turned out to be an “auto-hotel“, a special kind of hourly hotel found in large numbers throughout all of Central America which unmarried couples can retire to for several hours alone. It works in the following practical way: you can drive your car directly into a garage belonging with your room, so no one sees who is staying there.

Hmmm, since we needed a safe place for the night, we told the surprised managers that other travelers had also spent the night there, and we got a good parking spot on the former restaurant’s parking area, electricity, cool beer, and our own watch dog. The night was quiet until, all of a sudden, first a goose, then a donkey, after that a rooster, and then, at the very end, a turkey kept there all started screaming loudly for the sun to rise – we woke up in a virtual zoo. That morning, we drove on towards the Pacific and made a stop in Santa Anna to do some shopping. This was when we experienced our next surprise. Two days before, we had thought we were driving into a developing country, but there was an enormous mall with a full parking lot, lots of shops, all of them full of people, and even a skating rink – fitting to the Christmas season. It was just like in the USA, and, after stopping at the super market and the fast-food place, we hurried on our way. Man oh man, talk about monstrous Santa Anna, and here we were shopping at almost the U.S. level, not just optically, but also price-wise (El Salvador even has the U.S. dollar as its currency). Our trip continued on to Ruta de las Flores, nota bene along very good roads. It was a stretch with good views as we drove through the highlands, past lovely small villages, lots of coffee plantations, and volcanoes on to the Pacific.

Here are some private pictures from the Ruta de las Flores.

We are now at Playa El Zonte, where we are once again enjoying absolute sunshine, warm Pacific waves, and black sandy beaches. After all the many rainy, dismal, wet days in the past few weeks, we are tanking up on sun again before continuing on southwards. There will be more about the beach in our next report, but we have a few photos for you as a contrast to the North American and European winter right now.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CAPTCHA Image

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Post Navigation

Willkommen in El Salvador

Der Grenzübergang zwischen Guatemala und El Salvador stellte sich als überraschend einfach heraus. Wir hatten uns den kleinen Grenzübergang Angiatu ausgesucht, der abseits der großen Hauptrouten liegt und daher ziemlich ruhig ist. Es gab keinen Stau, keinen Stress und keine fleißigen Helfer, die sich unbedingt etwas dazuverdienen wollten. Geholfen hat sicherlich auch, dass es Sonntagnachmittag war. Bereits im Vorfeld hatten wir uns diverse Kopien aller wichtigen Dokumente anfertigen lassen und mussten so nur noch die guatemaltekische Ausfuhrbescheinigung kopieren lassen. Außer den vier Quetzales für die Kopien hat uns der gesamte Grenzübertritt nichts mehr gekostet! Nur das endlose Ausfüllen diverser Formulare von Hand dauerte seine Zeit und auch die Zollbeamten mussten diverse Formulare mehrfach beschriften. Trotzdem hatten wir nach weniger als zwei Stunden alles erledigt und durften nach El Salvador einreisen. El Salvador genießt nicht gerade einen besonders guten Ruf, die Geschichte des Landes ist gezeichnet von Krieg und Kriminalität, und wird daher von vielen Reisenden gemieden. Wir hatten aber auch einige andere Geschichten gehört und diese klangen recht verlockend. Kaum über der Grenze ging es mit den Überraschungen los – ein gewaltiger Sonnenuntergang mit Vulkanen am Horizont ließ das Land in unwirklichen Farben erstrahlen – was für eine Begrüßung. Das avisierte Hotel mit schönem Restaurant für die Nacht erwies sich dann als „Auto-Hotel“. Dies ist eine spezielle Art von Stundenhotel, die in ganz Zentralamerika in großer Dichte vorhanden sind. Hier können sich unverheiratete Pärchen für einige Stunden zurückziehen. Das funktioniert so, dass man mit dem Auto praktischerweise direkt in eine dem Zimmer zugehörige Garage fahren kann und keiner sieht, wer drin ist.

Naja, wir brauchten einen sicheren Platz für die Nacht und erklärten den überraschten Betreibern, dass hier früher auch schon Reisende übernachtet haben. Wir bekamen einen guten Stellplatz auf dem ehemaligen Restaurantparkplatz, Strom, kühles Bier und einen eigenen Wachhund. Die Nacht war ruhig, bis auf einmal erst eine Gans, dann ein Esel, anschließend ein Hahn und zu guter Letzt auch noch der hier wohnhafte Truthahn lauthals die Sonne herbeisehnten – wir wachten quasi im Zoo auf. Wir fuhren weiter gen Pazifik und machten in Santa Anna einen Stopp zum Einkaufen. Hier ereilte uns die nächste Überraschung, denn noch zwei Tage zuvor dachten wir, dass wir in ein völliges Entwicklungsland fahren. Eine gewaltige Mall mit einem vollen Parkplatz, volle Läden und sogar einer Eislaufbahn passend zur Weihnachtszeit. Es war wie in den USA und nach Supermarkt und Fast-Food mussten wir da schnell wieder aus. Man oh man, von wegen Moloch Santa Anna, wir waren hier fast auf US-Niveau einkaufen, nicht nur optisch sondern auch finanziell (El Salvador hat sogar den US Dollar als Währung). Weiter ging die Fahrt zur Ruta de las Flores, nota bene auf sehr guten Straßen, einer aussichtsreichen Strecke durch Kaffeeplantagen und entlang von Vulkanen durchs Hochland. Durch schön hergerichtete, kleine Dörfer und entlang vieler Kaffeeplantagen kamen wir an den Pazifik.

Einige private Bilder von der Ruta de las Flores könnt ihr euch hier anschauen.

Nun sind wir am Playa El Zonte, wo wir wieder uneingeschränkten Sonnenschein, warme Pazifikwellen und schwarze Sandstrände genießen. Nach den vielen regnerischen, trüben und feuchten Tagen der letzten Wochen tanken wir wieder richtig Sonne, bevor es wieder weiter gen Süden geht. Mehr vom Strand gibt’s dann im nächsten Bericht, ein paar Bilder als Abwechslung für die Augen vom europäischen Winter bekommt ihr aber schon jetzt.

Hinterlasse eine Antwort

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert *

CAPTCHA-Bild

*

Du kannst folgende HTML-Tags benutzen: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Post Navigation