The Northwest – ancient forests and snow-covered volcanoes

Still in Canada, we took a break for a day of rock-climbing in Squamish on the way to Vancouver. The children played nicely at the foot of the towering rock in the woods while we were finally able to make use of our climbing gear. We definitely plan to do this again someplace else since it worked out so well for us as well as for the children. The next day, we celebrated a milestone when we finally see the sea again: the first long stretch from the Atlantic Ocean to the Pacific is behind us!

 

In Vancouver, we rented two bikes and a bike trailer for children, so we were able to see a lot in a short time. We really liked the city, and biking was lots of fun for all of us. That same evening, we drove back into the USA, where we were held up at the border for a while, but only because the customs officials wanted to gaze in amazement at our vehicle. The next morning, Carla and Robert enjoyed the perfect place for spending the night: our Bremach was in a school parking lot directly next to a playground. The person in charge very nicely also opened the bathrooms for us.

 

Then we drove up along the long, but very worthwhile cul-de-sac to Mt. Baker. First, there were actually untouched forests with high, moss-covered trees and then a fantastic view out over the glacier-topped mountain slopes.

We drove on further to Mt. Rainier, where, unfortunately, a combination of clouds, swirling dust and smoke from forest fires stole a good view of the powerful volcano. So we decided, spur of the moment, to drive on to Mt. St. Helens, where we were lucky enough to have a better view. The eruption in 1980 changed the landscape there drastically and pulled down enormous numbers of trees from one moment to the next. Although, in the meantime, nature recovered well and the plants are sprouting, we could still feel the sudden emptiness. The next day, we explored Ape Caves, an almost 2,000-year old lava cave. What an experience it was for the children to orientate themselves in the utter darkness, with only a headlamp on their foreheads to guide them.

 

In Portland, we met up with friends from Germany who happen to be on the same route we are right now. In the evening, we enjoyed the best steaks from Whole Foods and some tasty beer from the local breweries around our campfire.

Now we are traveling on through the Cascades and marveling at how much thicker and higher the forests are here and how many mighty volcanoes stretch up into the sky. And then there are hot springs, cool lakes, and excellent places for camping in the wild. Meanwhile, we have become really good at finding places to spend the night for free and rarely have to resort to campgrounds. This is just the right place for this since wild camping is allowed in the State Forests and you can pick out the loveliest spots. In Willamette Forest, really every single little road between Breitenbush Hot Springs and Detroit that led away from the main road was full of campers and tents. Carla and Robert now can say that they have climbed their first real summit: we hiked up the 2764m hight volcano Mt. Bachelor and had a great view from up there.

 

After several cooler days, we have now arrived in warmer regions and continue driving southwards. In one month, we will already have to have crossed the border to Mexico.

 

One Thought on “The Northwest – ancient forests and snow-covered volcanoes

  1. Hallo Ihr Lieben,
    Ein richtig cooles Websitebild habt ihr da am Start!
    Lg,
    JoLeFaTi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CAPTCHA Image

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Post Navigation

Der Nordwesten – archaische Wälder und schneebedeckte Vulkane

Noch in Kanada, haben wir auf dem Weg nach Vancouver einen Klettertag in Squamish eingelegt. Die Kinder haben schön am Fuße der Felsen im Wald gespielt, während wir endlich unsere Kletterausrüstung einsetzen konnten. Das werden wir woanders auf jeden Fall wiederholen, da sowohl für uns als auch mit den Kindern alles super geklappt hat. Am Tag darauf haben wir einen Meilenstein gefeiert, als wir endlich wieder das Meer sahen: die erste große Teilstrecke vom Atlantik an den Pazifik ist geschafft!

In Vancouver haben wir uns zwei Fahrräder und einen Anhänger für die Kinder gemietet und konnten so in kurzer Zeit viel sehen. Die Stadt hat uns sehr gut gefallen und das Fahrradfahren hat viel Spaß gemacht. Noch am selben Abend sind wir zurück in die USA gefahren und sind an der Grenze länger aufgehalten worden, allerdings nur, weil die Grenzbeamten unser Fahrzeug bestaunen wollten. Carla und Robert konnten sich am nächsten Morgen über den perfekten Übernachtungsplatz freuen, denn direkt neben dem Bremach war ein Spielplatz. Wir haben auf einem Schulparkplatz übernachtet und netterweise wurden uns morgens auch noch die Toiletten aufgesperrt.

Wir sind die lange, aber sehr lohnenswerte Stichstraße zum Mt. Baker hochgefahren. Erst gab es richtige unangetastete Wälder mit hohen, moosüberwachsenen Bäumen zu sehen, anschließend eine fantastische Sicht auf die gletscherbehangenen Berge.

Weiter ging es dann zum Mt. Rainier, wo uns allerdings eine Kombination aus Wolken, aufgewirbeltem Staub und Rauch von Waldbränden die Sicht auf den mächtigen Vulkan stahl. Also sind wir kurzerhand weiter zum Mt. St. Helens, wo uns eine bessere Aussicht vergönnt war. Der Ausbruch des Vulkans im Jahre 1980 hat die Landschaft hier drastisch verändert und Unmengen an Bäumen wurden von einem Moment auf den anderen umgehauen. Auch wenn sich die Natur inzwischen gut erholt hat und die Pflanzen sprießen, konnten wir diese plötzliche Leere immer noch fühlen. Tags drauf haben wir die Ape Caves, eine fast 2000 Jahre alte Lavahöhle, erforscht. Was für ein Erlebnis für die Kinder, sich nur mit Stirnlampen im kompletten Dunkel zu orientieren.

In Portland haben wir uns mit Freunden aus Deutschland getroffen, die zufällig auch gerade die gleiche Route haben wie wir. Abends gab es beste Steaks vom Whole Foods und einige leckere Bierchen aus den lokalen Brauereien am Lagerfeuer.

Nun fahren wir weiter durch die Cascades und staunen, wie viel dichter und hoher Wald hier wächst und wie viele mächtige Vulkane in den Himmel ragen. Dazu gibt es heiße Quellen, kühle Seen und ausgezeichnete Plätze fürs Wildcampen. Inzwischen sind wir richtig gut ins kostenlose Übernachten reingekommen und gehen nur noch selten auf Campgrounds. Das bietet sich hier auch wirklich an, da das Wildcampen in den State Forrests erlaubt ist und man sich die schönsten Plätze aussuchen kann. Im Willamette Forrest war zwischen Breitenbush Hot Springs und Detroit wirklich jeder Waldweg, der von der Hauptstraße wegführte, besetzt mit Campern und Zelten. Inzwischen haben Carla und Robert auch ihren ersten richtigen Gipfel bestiegen, wir haben den 2764m hohen Vulkan Mt. Bachelor erklommen.

Nach einigen kälteren Tagen sind wir nun wieder in heißeren Gegenden und fahren stetig gen Süden. In eine Monat müssen wir die Grenze nach Mexico schon übertreten haben.

One Thought on “Der Nordwesten – archaische Wälder und schneebedeckte Vulkane

  1. Hallo Ihr Lieben,
    Ein richtig cooles Websitebild habt ihr da am Start!
    Lg,
    JoLeFaTi

Hinterlasse eine Antwort

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert *

CAPTCHA-Bild

*

Du kannst folgende HTML-Tags benutzen: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Post Navigation