Cordillera Huayhuash

Even before leaving the Cordillera Blanca, we could see the shining, steep peaks of the Cordillera Huayhuash (pronounced: why wash). The wild, jagged peaks soared up towards the sky, and a condor circled majestically above them – a good omen for the adventures awaiting us. Through remote villages and past isolated fincas, we approached the wild east side of the Cordillera Huayhuash. A quiet night spent directly next to hot springs (once used by the ancient Incas), and unbelievably friendly people along the way made our trip along the narrow tracks a true delight.

When we arrived at the small mountain village of Queropalca around lunchtime, we met Ivan, who offered to be our donkey driver and cook for the hike through the mountains which we planned to take during the next few days with all our kit and caboodle. The details were settled quickly, and, the next morning, we packed lots of things we would need on two donkeys. A third donkey served as transportation for the children, and Ivan tied Robert and Carla on them securely. A few hours later (Robert had meanwhile decided that he preferred the parental carrying service), we arrived at Laguna Carhuacocha, a big mountain lake directly beneath the highest peak of the Huayhuash. We understood immediately why this lake is considered of the most beautiful on this continent. Its beauty enchanted us. The even greater surprise was that we happened to meet Tanja’s sister Natalie again. Although we knew that she had planned a hike around the Cordillera Huayhuash, it came about completely by chance, and we couldn’t have planned it better. She was hiking with Mathias (who is a cook) and their donkey drivers, and, when it was time to prepare something to eat, we couldn’t have been happier since it turned out that our cook, Ivan, was not a cook (he acted as if he was totally surprised that he should prepare any meals – although we had settled this together the day before). So we quickly changed plans, and I spontaneously took over the role of the cook and, thanks to the help of Natalie, Mathias, and their cooking tent, we all had a find dinner that evening.

We had selected one of the especially beautiful hikes in this region, along small glacier lakes directly beneath the steep, rugged ice walls of the 20,000-foot (6000m) mountains Jirishanca, Yerupaja and Siula (the last one famous from the mountaineering epic “Touching the Void”. The path wound its way mercilessly up to a 14,800-foot (4850m) high pass. Unfortunately, this day-long leg was too steep for the donkeys, so Robert and Carla were able to take advantage of an extensive carrying service, and Natalie and we were able to participate in a special kind of high altitude sports. We were rewarded with blue sky, the sound of ice avalanches crashing, and fascinating views of the gigantic, inaccessible walls of the towering peaks. Then we began the descent to our camp for the night, which was no longer very far away, but the end stretch was long and drawn out. Our arrieros were waiting for us there with the tents already set up, Mathias had already cooked warm soup, and we the cooked another delicious dinner together.

Thanks to it being Natalie’s the next morning, we had a sumptuous breakfast before we started off again on the way back to Queropalca, while Natalie continued on around the Huayhuash with her companions. This time, we were able to make use of our animal assistance again as we hiked over a somewhat lower pass back into the  Carhuacocha Valley, where we camped out in our tent again and enjoyed the peacefulness of the majestic mountains in a relaxed setting.

During our time with Ivan, we talked about all sorts of different things with him, including local traditions and specialties. After our cooking agreement had failed to work out, but Ivan had raved enthusiastically about the preparation of a very special dish called pachamanca, we gave him a second chance at cooking and were very expectant, tense, and curious when we got down to Queropalca. A freshly slaughtered lamb awaited us there, the whole thing just for us. Together with his wife, and with us as a very interested audience, the lamb was cut into pieces, marinated, and prepared with lots of other ingredients. While the meat was marinating, we relaxed in the nearby hot springs, which were amazingly clean for Peruvian standards. Right after our return, Ivan placed layers of stones on top of one another in a special way and started a big fire in a deep hole beneath the stones to make them very hot. When they reached the right temperature, the artfully constructed stone construction was destroyed, and the stones fell into the hole. Now it was time for the pieces of lamb, which were placed directly onto the hot stones, then covered with more hot stones and, after that, potatoes and plantains. Everything was covered with moss, followed by oats, foil, and then earth on top, and left to cook for 25 minutes.

When the pile of stuff on top was being taken off, we could already smell the delicious aroma. Within a few minutes, we each had a big bowl of yummy smelling lamb in our hands and together a bucket of potatoes and plantains. What a luscious feast! We just couldn’t get enough of the tender, tasty meat and were so happy that there was enough lamb for several days, so we still had this great culinary memory of the impressive time in and around Queropalca for a while. After our time in the small village, everyone there knew us, of course, and they all bid us a fond farewell. We felt really relaxed and at ease there, and they all made us feel very welcome.

We had an early start the next morning – our travel route led us through a remote region along a little traveled track to the highest mine in Peru, Mina Raura, at an altitude of about 16,500 feet (5000m). Since there very some very poor villages along the way, we took the advice of the locals and avoided any possible incidents involving alcohol afternoons and evenings by driving through this area during the safe morning hours. Along the way, we enjoyed more beautiful views of the Cordillera Huayhuash, Laguna Lauricocha (where the oldest human bones on the continent were found), and the young Rio Maranon.  Almost 2,000 miners work at extracting copper, tin, and lead at Raura, in the rough, high mountains near glaciers. Rio Maranon, the longest river supplying the Amazon, has its source in the high glaciers. Seen from this perspective, we made it to the source of this gigantic river, a great notion. From the mine on, the track got increasingly better, but the high amount of truck traffic also made it increasingly full of pot holes. This wouldn’t have been so bad if I hadn’t got a painful blockade in my back that morning when I was refilling our water supplies. Nothing helped, and I just had to grin and bear it while Tanja maneuvered the Bremach as gently as possible to get us to Oyon, where we went to a puesto de salud for the first time. Thanks to some pills, the continuation of our trip was ensured. The next day, we drove along high tracks with lots of good views and reached the main street in Cerro de Pasco, a faceless mining city which wasn’t the type of place you would want to linger at for very long. After a last night in the high altitude (we hadn’t been under about 13,000 feet (4000m for a good two weeks), we were looking forward to a few days of rest and relaxation in Tarma. But, with only the last 12 miles (20km) to go, the most difficult part began; shortly before Tarma, the street was closed off for three hours, so we tried a track leading there, but, just before the town, the track was also blocked off by a construction area – this time until the evening. So we quickly drove back up the hill to the first blockade, where we arrived three hours later, punctually for the street opening. Due to the chaotic construction area, however, we had to have even more patience before we finally arrived at our goal. Finally, at a beautiful hacienda, we were able to enjoy higher temperatures, therapeutic massages, and a lot of room for us to relax and for the children to play. My limited mobility is what gives me the opportunity to write down our experiences during the last few weeks, while Tanja is more active than ever and is busy washing our clothes from the whole time in the mountains by hand right now. When I am free of pain and all of us have had time to relax, we will bid the immense, powerful mountain ranges a fond farewell for several days and head on towards the coast.

Here are our private pictures, once again.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CAPTCHA Image

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Post Navigation

Cordillera Huayhuash

Bereits auf den letzten Metern in der Cordillera Blanca leuchteten uns die steilen Gipfel der Cordillera Huayhuash (sprich: Waiwasch) entgegen. Über einem majestätisch kreisenden Kondor ragten die wilden Zacken in den blauen Himmel – ein gutes Vorzeichen für die bevorstehenden Abenteuer. Durch einsame Dörfer und entlang abgeschiedener Fincas näherten wir uns der wilden Ostseite der Cordillera Huayhuash. Eine stille Nacht direkt neben heißen Quellen (die bereits die Inkas benutzen) und unheimlich freundliche Menschen machten die Reise auf den schmalen Pisten zum Genuss.


In Queropalca, einem kleinen Bergdorf, angekommen, lernten wir beim Mittagessen Ivan kennen. Er bot sich uns als Eselstreiber und Koch für die kommenden Tage an, wir hatten nämlich vor, mit Sack und Pack durch die Berge zu wandern. Schnell war alles geklärt und wir packten am nächsten Morgen viel Gepäck auf zwei Esel. Ein weiterer Esel diente zum Kindertransport und Ivan schnürte Robert und Carla gut darauf fest. Nach einigen Stunden erreichten wir die Laguna Carhuacocha (Robert zog mittlerweile den elterlichen Trageservice vor), einem großen Bergsee unmittelbar unterhalb der höchsten Huayhuashgipfel. Sofort war uns klar, warum dieser See als einer der schönsten des Kontinents gilt, wir waren von dem Anblick verzaubert. Die noch viel größere Überraschung war, dass wir Tanjas Schwester Natalie wieder trafen. Wir wussten zwar, dass sie die Umrundung der Cordillera Huayhuash vorhatte, dass wir uns jedoch zufällig unterwegs treffen würden hätten wir gar nicht besser planen können. Sie war zusammen mit Mathias (der Koch ist) und deren Eselstreiber unterwegs und als es ans Essenkochen ging waren wir froh darum, denn unsere Koch stellte sich als Nichtkoch heraus (er tat völlig überrascht, dass er sich ums Essen kümmern soll, dabei hatten wir das am Vortag fest abgesprochen). So disponierten wir schnell um und ich übernahm den Spontankochpart und dank der Hilfe von Natalie, Mathias und deren Kochzelt ging das dann alles gut aus und wir hatten ein feines Abendessen.
Wir hatten uns eine der besonders schönen Wanderungen der Gegend ausgesucht, entlang kleiner Gletscherseen führte der Weg unmittelbar unter den steil aufragenden Eiswänden der 6000er Jirishanca, Yerupaja und Siula (letzterer bekannt aus dem Bergsteigerepos „Sturz ins Leere“) entlang und schraubte sich erbarmungslos auf einen 4850m hohen Pass. Leider war diese Tagesetappe für die Esel zu steil und so durften sich Robert und Carla über einen ausgiebigen Trageservice und wir und Natalie uns über besonderen Höhensport freuen. Belohnt wurden wir mit blauem Himmel, krachenden Eislawinen und fesselnden Blicken auf die unnahbaren Riesenwände der hoch aufragenden Berge. Der Abstieg nach Huayhuash war dann zwar nicht mehr weit, zog sich aber am Ende etwas in die Länge. Hier erwarteten uns unsere Arrieros mit aufgebauten Zelten, Mathias hatte bereits eine warme Suppe gekocht und gemeinsam kochten wir ein leckeres Abendessen.
Dank Natalies Geburtstag gab es am nächsten Tag ein ausgiebiges Frühstück, nach dem wir uns wieder auf den Rückweg nach Queropalca machten. Natalie zog mit ihren Gefährten weiter um die Huayhuash und wir wanderten, diesmal wieder mit tierischer Hilfe, über einen etwas niedrigeren Pass zurück ins Carhuacochatal. Dort zelteten wir nochmals und genossen in Ruhe die majestätischen Berge.

Während unserer gemeinsamen Zeit mit Ivan haben wir uns über alles Mögliche unterhalten, unter anderem auch über die lokalen Gebräuche und Spezialitäten. Nachdem unsere Kochvereinbarung gescheitert war, uns Ivan aber begeistert von der Zubereitung einer besonderen Speise Namens Pachamanca erzählt hatte, bekam er eine zweite Kochchance und wir stiegen gespannt nach Queropalca ab. Dort erwartete uns bereits ein frisch geschlachtetes Lamm, welches nur für uns bestimmt war. Zusammen mit seiner Ehefrau und uns als interessierten Zuschauern wurde das Lamm zerstückelt, eingelegt und zusammen mit weiteren Zutaten bereitgestellt. Während das Fleisch zog entspannten wir uns in den nahegelegenen heißen Quellen, die für peruanische Verhältnisse erstaunlich sauber waren. Kaum zurück, schichtete Ivan Steine auf eine besondere Weise auf und machte in einem tiefen Loch darunter ein großes Feuer, wodurch die Steine heiß wurden. Als die richtige Temperatur erreicht war, wurde die zuvor kunstvoll errichtete Steinkonstruktion zerstört und die Steine fielen in das Loch. Nun kam das Lamm an die Reihe, die Stücke wurden direkt auf die heißen Steine gelegt, mit weiteren heißen Steinen bedeckt und darauf kamen Kartoffeln und Kochbananen. Alles wurde mit Moospolstern, Hafer, zuletzt Folien und darauf Erde abgedeckt und für 25 Minuten in Ruhe gelassen.
Schnell war der Haufen abgetragen und es begann herrlich zu duften. Binnen weniger Minuten hielten wir ein große Schüssel köstlich riechendes Lammfleisch und einen Eimer Kartoffeln und Bananen in Händen. Welch ein Schmaus! Wir konnten vom feinen Fleisch gar nicht genug bekommen, zum Glück reichte das Lamm für einige Tage und so hatten wir noch lange Zeit eine köstliche Erinnerung an die eindrucksvollen Tage in und um Queropalca. Nach unserer Zeit in dem kleinen Dorf waren wir natürlich jedem bekannt und wurden herzlich verabschiedet, wir hatten uns hier richtig wohl und willkommen gefühlt.

Uns stand ein früher Start bevor – unsere weitere Route führte uns durch eine einsame Gegend auf einer sehr wenig befahrenen Piste zur höchstgelegenen Mine Perus, der Mina Raura, auf fast 5000m. Da einige sehr arme Dörfer an der Strecke liegen und es Nachmittags und Abends gelegentlich zu unschönen, vermutlich alkoholbedingten Vorfällen kommt folgten wir dem Ratschlag der Einheimischen und fuhren während der sicheren Morgenstunden durch diese Gegend und erreichten wohlbehalten die sichere Mine. Entlang der Strecke hatten wir nochmals tolle Blicke auf die Cordillera Huayhuash, die Laguna Lauricocha (hier wurden die ältesten Gebeine des Kontinents gefunden) und den jungen Rio Maranon. In einer rauen Hochgebirgsumgebung nahe einiger Gletscher arbeiten in Raura fast 2000 Mineure an der Gewinnung von Kupfer, Zinn und Blei. Aus den hochgelegenen Gletschern entspringt der Rio Maranon, der längste Quellfluss des Amazonas. So gesehen haben wir es an die Quelle dieses Riesenflusses geschafft, eine tolle Vorstellung. Ab der Mine wurde die Piste dann deutlich breiter, jedoch aufgrund der hohen Lastwagenfrequenz auch deutlich schlaglochreicher. Was ja nicht so schlimm gewesen wäre, hätte ich mir morgens nicht beim befüllen unserer Wasservorräte eine schmerzhafte Blockade im Rücken zugezogen. Es half nicht, ich musste da durch und Tanja manövrierte und möglichst sanft nach Oyon, wo wir erstmals einen „Puesto de Salud“ aufsuchten. Dank einiger Tabletten war die Weiterreise gesichert und auf hohen, aussichtsreichen Pisten erreichten wir an nächsten Tag die Hauptstraße in Cerro de Pasco, einer gesichtslosen Minenstadt, die nicht zum Verweilen einlädt. Nach einer letzten Nacht in der Höhe (wir waren seit gut zwei Wochen nicht weit unter 4000m gewesen) freuten wir uns auf einige Ruhetage in Tarma. Doch die letzten 20km, die uns dorthin fehlten waren die schwersten: kurz vor Tarma war die Straße für drei Stunden gesperrt und so versuchten wir es über ein Piste, die jedoch wieder kurz vor Tarma wegen einer Baustelle bis zum Abend gesperrt war. Also sind wir wieder über den Berg und schnell zurück zur ersten Sperrung, wo wir pünktlich zur Straßenöffnung ankamen, jedoch aufgrund der chaotischen Baustelle noch einiges an Geduld haben mussten, bis wir am Ziel waren. Auf einer wunderschönen Hacienda genießen wir nun höhere Temperaturen, heilsame Massagen und viel Platz zum Erholen und Spielen. Meine eingeschränkten Bewegungsmöglichkeiten erlauben es mir von den letzten Wochen zu berichten, während Tanja sich umso mehr bewegt und die Wäsche der letzten zwei Wochen per Hand wäscht. Schmerzfreie und frisch erholt werden wir uns bald für einige Tage von der gewaltigen Bergwelt verabschieden und Richtung Küste losziehen.

Hier gibt es mal wieder Privatfotos.

Hinterlasse eine Antwort

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert *

CAPTCHA-Bild

*

Du kannst folgende HTML-Tags benutzen: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Post Navigation