Cordillera Blanca

From Cajamarca, we followed the little-traveled route through the highlands southwards along the increasingly higher mountain ranges. Some nice villages and their friendly inhabitants made the drive a pleasure. Tanja’s sister Natalie met up with us again In Huamachuco, and we headed off through the Sierra and up to the long awaited mountains of the Cordillera Blanca. First, there was a bit of track which we had some differing information about – ranging from impassable to it being a good road. It turned out to be the latter, and we reached the Rio Santa gorge along very good tracks, even some with some paved sections. It was a spectacular drive going down over 9,000 feet (2800m) between high rocky cliffs into a hot, barren desert landscape. Then, driving along the Rio Santa on a great street, we slowly began to gain altitude again, always surrounded by mighty rocky cliffs.

Shortly before Caraz, we spotted the first glacier and, soon afterwards, we  the thrilling track led us upwards between over 2,625-foot-high (800m) vertical granite walls to beautiful Laguna Paron, the largest lake in the Cordillera Blanca, situated at 13,800 feet (4200m) with a fantastic view of the surrounding mountains. A hike along the lake gave us our first breath-taking (thanks to the altitude, literally in the true sense of word) views of the icy giants in the Andes – the Nevados Huandoy, Piramide and Chacracaju, the Aiguilas de Caraz and the Artesonraju allowed us short glimpses of their peaks, despite the threatening clouds of a mountain wind storm. All of this above the deep blue water of the lake was an excellent introduction to the weeks to come.

We penetrated even more deeply into the mountains in the Llanganuco Valley. Here, too, an excellent track led from Yungay up into the mountains, right past the highest one in Peru, Huascaran. The entire area is studded with huge house-high rocks, a last trace of the great natural catastrophe in 1970 when a tremendous earthquake convulsed northern Peru on May 31, causing parts of Huascaran Sur, the highest southern summit of Huascaran, to collapse. The energy of the resulting rockslide made a glacier melt, which resulted in a disastrous avalanche. Over 20,000 people dies in Yungay and the surrounding area; on to the coast, about 80,000 people lost their lives. The villages were rebuilt in safer places, and, today, there is not much to remind you of the catastrophe. We can only hope that nature won’t repeat itself here. Looking at the magnificence of nature here, you don’t suspect any threat; the turquoise blue lakes of Llanganuco are embedded between steep granite walls reaching to the sky. We wandered to impressive viewpoints and enjoyed gazing at the imposing peaks. One of the highlights was Laguna 69 early in the morning. To get there, we packed our tent and the children on mules and wandered up to a high plateau and a fantastic place for setting up our tent. Then we hiked on to the glacier lake under the steep wllas of the Chacracaju. Warmed by the lovely rays of sun, we delighted in the magnificent view of the peaks of Huandoy, Pisco, Chopicalqui, Huascaran, and, of course, the inaccessible flanks of Chacracaju, one of the most difficult peaks in the Andes. Then, without the help of the animals, we hiked down into the valley again and enjoyed a refreshing dip in a clear stream.

From Llanganucotal, we drove over to the east side of the mountain along countless serpentine curves and a very high pass and were rewarded with great views of the high mountains. The increasingly poorer track led deep in the valley of the rivers feeding the Amazon before heading steeply back up into the mountains. In the meantime, the track didn’t even have the quality of a bad European forest track, so we were more than amazed when a brand-new, two-lane asphalted surface suddenly appeared. The mountain pass over Punta Olimpica had been newly constructed, and a tunnel had even been built under the highest point. We tried – with no success – to drive along the old track; a landslide on the old pass track prevented us from going any further on it. This circuit through the Cordillera Blanca was one of the most spectacular mountain drives so far and worth every effort.

Up above the city of Huaraz, we found a lovely place to stay, and Robert, Carla, and I enjoyed the peace and quiet of the mountains while Tanja and Natalie hiked into the Ishinca valley for two days. After the two had returned, we did all sorts of errands in Huaraz and enjoyed the big market, good restaurants, and international flair of the most well-known and popular mountaineering city in Peru. This is where Natalie’s path and ours split up (it was great together!), and we drove on to more athletic activity – the climbing area of Hatun Machay in the Cordillera Negra, with its promise of lots of good mountaineering. We were finally able to dig out our mountaineering equipment and stretch our fingers. At an altitude of 14,100 feet (4300m), a countless number of enormous rocks up to 100 feet high (30m) are spread out all over and offer extremely well-secured mountaineering on fantastic rock. To top it all off, there is a really nice cabin with very friendly people. But we did experience our coldest night so far there. In the morning, everything was frozen, so we especially enjoyed the warming rays of the sun. The great climbing and the view all the way to the Pacific more than made up for the cold night.

With swollen arms from all the climbing and acclimatized perfectly, we drove past enormous Puya Raimondis, which have one of the largest blossoms in the world, and into the high Cordillera Blanca one last time. We had chosen a side route for the rest of the way southwards and had no idea of what was to await us along the way. A remote track first led us up over a high pass and then through an unreal mountain landscape next to wild glaciers, small mountain lakes, and surrealistic rock formations. The entire route took us along the main crest at an altitude of from 15,500 feet (4700m) and 16,000 feet (4900m) and new grandiose views appeared behind each curve – von the 20, 000-foot-high (6000m) mountains of the Cordillera Blanca on over the endless breadth of lowland jungle, the Selva, to the wild, jagged peaks of the Cordillera Huayhuash. We were totally overwhelmed, and even Robert and Carla were glued to their windows, completely fascinated by this natural spectacle which the Cordillera Blanca gave us as a farewell present. It was a very special experience, and we leave the first high mountain chain in the Andes deeply impressed and eager to see what awaits us at our next goals.

Private photos of our time in the Cordillera Blanca are here.

2 Thoughts on “Cordillera Blanca

  1. Larissa und Christoph on Tuesday June 17th, 2014 at 01:29 PM said:

    Na, konntet ihr die Standheizung passend umprogrammieren mit dem Kabel, das wir euch weitergeleitet haben? Hoffentlich!

    • Wie geplant – wir können die Standheizung nun mit dem Laptop auf allen gestesteten Höhen (bisher 4300m) starten und betreiben. Leider merkt sich das Steuergerät die angepassten Werte nicht, so dass wir jedes Mal in der Höhe den Computer brauchen. Aber es gibt Schlimmeres.
      Was lernen wir daraus – nie wieder Webasto sondern lieber Eberspächer mit werkseitigem Höhenkit.

      Grüße, Max

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CAPTCHA Image

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Post Navigation

Cordillera Blanca

Von Cajamarca folgten wir der wenig bereisten Route durchs Hochland entlang der stetig höher werdenden Berge nach Süden. Einige nette Städtchen und die freundlichen Bewohner der Gegend machten die Fahrt zu einem Genuss. In Huamachuco stieß Tanjas Schwester Natalie wieder zu uns und wir machten uns durch die Sierra auf zu den lang ersehnten Bergen der Cordillera Blanca. Zuvor gab es noch ein Stück Piste, über das uns unterschiedliche Informationen vorlagen – von unbefahrbar bis hin zu guter Straße. Letzteres stimmte, entlang bester Pisten und sogar einiger geteerter Teilstücke erreichten wir die Schlucht des Rio Santa. Spektakulär ging es über 2800m hinab in eine karge, heiße Wüstenlandschaft zwischen hohen Felswänden. Entlang des Rio Santa gewannen wir dann langsam wieder an Höhe, immer umgeben von gewaltigen Felswänden auf einer tollen Straße.


Kurz vor Caraz erspähten wir die ersten Gletscher und schon bald darauf waren wir an der Laguna Paron hautnah dran. Die spannende Piste führte zwischen über 800m hohen, senkrechten Granitwänden hinauf zur Lagune auf 4200m mit einer fantastischen Aussicht auf die umliegenden Berge. Eine Wanderung entlang des See eröffnete uns atemberaubende (dank der Höhe im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes) Aussichten auf die ersten andinen Eisriesen unserer Reise – die Nevados Huandoy, Piramide und Chacracaju, die Aiguilas de Caraz und der Artesonraju ließen trotz eines drohenden Föhnsturmes kurze Blicke auf ihre Gipfel zu. All dies über dem tiefen Blau des Sees, eine hervorragende Einstimmung auf die kommenden Wochen.

Noch tiefer in die Berge drangen wir dann im Llanganucotal vor. Auch hier führt eine tolle Piste von Yungay hinauf in die Berge, ganz nahe am höchsten Perus, dem Huascaran, vorbei. Die ganze Gegend ist von haushohen Felsklötzen übersät, eine letzte Spur der großen Naturkatastrophe von 1970. Am 31. Mai hat ein gewaltiges Erdbeben den Norden Perus erschüttert und Teile des Huascaran Sur zum Einsturz gebracht. Der resultierende Bergsturz brachte durch seine Energie einen Gletscher zum Schmelzen und es kam zu einer katastrophalen Lawine. In Yungay und der Umgebung starben über 20‘000 Menschen, bis hin zur Küste verloren ca. 80‘000 Menschen ihr Leben. Die Dörfer wurden an sichereren Orten wieder aufgebaut und heute erinnert nicht mehr viel an diese Katastrophe. Bleibt zu hoffen, dass keine Wiederholung folgt. Die prächtige Natur lässt kein Ungemach vermuten, zwischen himmelstürmenden Granitfluchten betten sich die Seen von Llanganuco türkisblau in die Landschaft. Wir genossen die imposanten Gipfel und erwanderten uns beeindruckende Aussichtspunkte. Ein Höhepunkt war die Laguna 69 am frühen Morgen. Hierzu schafften wir Zelt und Kinder per Esel zu einem fantastischen Zeltplatz auf einer Hochebene und wanderten morgens zum Gletschersee unter den steilen Wänden des Chacracaju. Wir genossen die wärmenden Sonnenstrahlen und die tolle Aussicht auf die Gipfel von Huandoy, Pisco, Chopicalqui, Huascaran und natürlich die unnahbaren Flanken des Chacracaju, einem der schwierigsten Gipfel der Anden. Ohne tierische Hilfe ging es dann wieder hinab ins Tal und hinein einen klaren Bach zur Erfrischung.

Vom Llanganucotal fuhren wir über zahllose Serpentinen und einen sehr hohen Pass hinüber auf die Ostseite der Berge und wurden mit tollen Ausblicken auf die hohen Berge belohnt. Die immer schlechter werdende Piste führte tief in die Täler der Amazonaszuflüsse hinab bevor es wieder steil in die Berge hinaufging. Mittlerweile hatte die Piste nicht einmal mehr die Qualität eines schlechten europäischen Waldweges, umso erstaunter waren wir, als plötzlich ein nagelneues, zweispuriges Asphaltband auftauchte. Die Passstraße über die Punta Olimpica war frisch erbaut und der höchste Punkt sogar untertunnelt. Wir versuchten erfolglos, die alte Passhöhe zu befahren, ein Erdrutsch verhinderte ein erfolgreiches Durchkommen. Diese Runde durch die Cordillera Blanca war eine der bis dato spektakulärsten Bergstraßen unserer Reise und jede Anstrengung Wert.

Oberhalb von Huaraz fanden wir einen schönen Platz und Robert, Carla und ich genossen die Ruhe und die Berge während Tanja und Natalie für zwei Tage ins Ishincatal wanderten. Nachdem die beiden wieder zurück waren, erledigten wir einiges in Huaraz und genossen den großen Markt, gute Restaurants und den internationalen Flair der berühmtesten Bergsteigerstadt Perus. Hier trennten sich schließlich Natalies und unsere Wege (schön war’s zusammen!) und wir fuhren weiterer sportlicher Betätigung entgegen – das Klettergebiet Hatun Machay in der Cordillera Negra versprach auf dem Papier viel Gutes. Wir konnten endlich unsere Kletterausrüstung ausgraben und uns die Finger langziehen. Auf 4300m Höhe liegt eine endlose Anzahl von bis zu 30m hohen Felsklötzen verstreut, die bestens abgesicherte Sportklettereien an einem traumhaft guten Fels bieten. Zu allem Überfluss gibt es eine schöne Hütte mit sehr netten Leuten. Allerdings hatten wir auch die bisher kältesten Nächte, morgens war alles gefroren und wir freuten uns über die wärmenden Sonnenstrahlen. Die tolle Kletterei und die Aussicht bis hin zum Pazifik entschädigten jedoch für die nächtliche Kälte.

Mit dicken Armen und bestens akklimatisiert fuhren wir entlang großer Puya Raimondis, welche eine der größten Blüten der Welt besitzen, ein letztes Mal in die Höhen der Cordillera Blanca. Wir hatten eine Nebenstrecke für den weiteren Weg nach Süden gewählt und ahnten nicht, was uns da erwarten würde. Eine einsame Piste führte erst über einen hohen Pass, danach durch eine unwirkliche Gebirgslandschaft entlang wilder Gletscher, kleiner Bergeseen und surrealistischer Felsformationen. Die ganze Strecke führte zwischen 4700m und 4900m dem Hauptkamm entlang und hinter jeder Kurve warteten neue, grandiose Ausblicke – von den 6000ern der Cordillera Blanca über die endlose Weite der Selva bis hin zu den wilden Zacken der Cordillera Huayhuash. Wir waren völlig überwältigt und sogar Robert und Carla klebten fasziniert an den Fenstern und waren von diesem Schauspiel gefesselt. Die Cordillera Blanca hat uns zum Abschied ein ganz besonderes Erlebnis ermöglicht –tief beeindruckt lassen wir die erste hohe Andenkette hinter uns und sind gespannt, was uns an den nächste Zielen erwarten wird.

Privatbilder von unserer Zeit in der Cordillera Blanca findet ihr hier.

2 Thoughts on “Cordillera Blanca

  1. Larissa und Christoph on Dienstag, der 17. Juni 2014 at 13:29 said:

    Na, konntet ihr die Standheizung passend umprogrammieren mit dem Kabel, das wir euch weitergeleitet haben? Hoffentlich!

    • Wie geplant – wir können die Standheizung nun mit dem Laptop auf allen gestesteten Höhen (bisher 4300m) starten und betreiben. Leider merkt sich das Steuergerät die angepassten Werte nicht, so dass wir jedes Mal in der Höhe den Computer brauchen. Aber es gibt Schlimmeres.
      Was lernen wir daraus – nie wieder Webasto sondern lieber Eberspächer mit werkseitigem Höhenkit.

      Grüße, Max

Hinterlasse eine Antwort

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert *

CAPTCHA-Bild

*

Du kannst folgende HTML-Tags benutzen: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Post Navigation