Category Archives: Reisebericht

Beachtime in Zipolite and sightseeing in Tuxtla

Our time in Zipolite was wonderful. We stayed at a great sandy beach directly next to shady palm huts and jumped into the pleasantly warm water of the Pacific to cool off a bit whenever we wanted to. Zipolite is somewhat off the beaten track, Read More

Sierra, Sierra Ma-a-adre, Sierra, Sierra Madre Sur

Feeling refreshed from our time at the Laguna de Catemaco, we started off towards Oaxaca. We planned a day of driving for the first time in quite a while and wanted to get as close as possible to our goal. How good that we had Read More

On the unfamiliar Gulf Coast

After our mighty descent from Orizaba, we arrived at Veracruz on the Gulf Coast, a very big harbor city with correspondingly lively activity. Here, it is less the special architecture or great churches that attract attention. Veracruz is especially vibrant and animated – with loud Read More

Cordillera Neo-Volcánica

We spent two nights in Cholula, where we once again met nice fellow-travelers: Dominik and Omaira from Switzerland with their children Oriana and Damiana and also two older couples from Canada who are friends with one another. After a visit to the city of Puebla, Read More

Teotihuacan

After spending the past few weeks discovering so much about colonial culture, it was time for something else. What could be more fitting than the cultural heritage of the Incan times? The ruins of Teotihuacan are ideally suited for this. The gigantic Piramide del Sol Read More

Grutas Tolantongo

It is absolutely unbelievable what a swimming paradise nature has created here! Tolantongo has surpassed all the hot springs we have seen so far – and that is really saying something! In order to reach the hot springs, you have to drive down about 2,000 Read More

Colonial Cities, Part 2

After 11 days with Robert, Lois and Audrey in San Luis Potosi, our Spanish had clearly improved, our Bremach had fresh oil, and the driving cabin was shining brightly thanks to its new paint job. And we had held our first talk about our trip Read More

Beneficial Exploitation of the Agave

As promised, our tours linked to the agave plant are now getting their own well-deserved report. We have even come to know about another use for the agave cactus in addition to making tequila from it, but more about this later. The little town of Read More

Colonial Cities, Part 1

After two pleasantly cool nights with just a few mosquitoes, we set off for the second largest city in Mexico, Guadalajara. We settled into a nice, green RV Park on the edge of the city and took the bus into the center, where there are Read More

Costa Alegre

After a pretty long night on the ferry (loud, warm, and bright),we arrived in Mazatlan on a beautiful summer morning. Originally we had wanted to drive southwards right away, but first we helped Jimmy from Australia to find a new inner tubefor his motorcycle. We had met him on the way to Pichilingue when he Read More

Category Archives: Reisebericht

Strandleben in Zipolite und Sightseeing in Tuxtla

Unsere Zeit in Zipolite war wunderbar. Wir wohnten an einem herrlichen Sandstrand direkt neben schattenspendenden Palmenhüttchen und sprangen gelegentlich in die angenehm warmen Wasser des Pazifiks, um uns etwas abzukühlen. Zipolite ist etwas abgelegen und es leben viele alt 68er hier, entsprechend herrscht eine völlig Read More

Sierra, Sierra Ma-a-adre, Sierra, Sierra Madre Sur

Frisch erholt machten wir uns auf den Weg nach Oaxaca. Wir hatten das erste Mal seit langem einen Fahrtag geplant und wollten unserem Ziel möglichst nahe kommen. Gut, waren wir erholt – die Straße ging zuerst durch ein Überschwemmungsgebiet und war aufgrund der unendlich vielen Read More

An der unbekannten Golfküste

Nach unserem gewaltigen Abstieg herab vom Orizaba erreichten Veracruz an der Golfküste. Veracruz ist eine große Hafenstadt und entsprechend herrscht dort reges Treiben. Hier sind es weniger die besondere Architektur oder eine tolle Kirche, die die Aufmerksamkeit auf sich ziehen. Veracruz ist vor allem lebendig Read More

Cordillera Neo-Volcánica

Wir haben zwei Nächte in Cholula verbracht, wo wir wieder nette Reisende kennengelernt haben: Dominik und Omaira mit ihren Kindern Oriana und Damiana aus der Schweiz und zwei befreundete ältere Pärchen aus Kanada. Nach einem Stadtbesuch von Puebla, der im Regen endete, sind wir am Read More

Teotihuacan

Nachdem wir uns in den vergangenen Wochen mit so viel Kolonialkultur umgeben hatten war es Zeit für etwas anderes. Was ist da passender, als Kulturgut aus Inkazeiten? Die Ruinen von Teotihuacan sind dazu hervorragend geeignet. Riesengroß – die Piramide del Sol ist die zweitgrößte Pyramide Read More

Grutas Tolantongo

Einfach unglaublich, was die Natur für ein Badeparadies geschaffen hat! Tolantongo hat alles geschlagen, was wir bisher an heißen Quellen kannten – und das will was heißen! Um dorthin zu gelangen muss man in eine beeindruckende Schlucht 600m hinunter fahren. Wasser wird dort in den Read More

Kolonialstädte, Teil 2

Nach 11 Tagen in San Luis Potosi bei Robert, Lois und Audrey hatte sich unser Spanisch deutlich verbessert, unser Bremach hatte frisches Öl und die Fahrerkabine erstrahlte dank neuem Lack in frischem Glanz. Und wir haben für Roberts Englischstudenten an der Universität unseren ersten Vortrag Read More

Die nützliche Verwertung der Agave

Wie in unserem letzten Bericht versprochen, bekommen unsere Ausflüge rund um die Agave ihren eigenen Beitrag. Wir haben nämlich, neben der Verwandlung der Agave zu Tequila, noch eine weitere Verwendung dieses Kaktusses kennengelernt, doch dazu später mehr. Recht nah bei Guadalajara liegt das Städtchen Tequila, Read More

Kolonialstädte, Teil 1

Nach zwei angenehm kühlen Nächten mit nur wenigen Moskitos sind wir in die zweitgrößte Stadt Mexikos aufgebrochen, nach Guadalajara. Wir haben uns auf einem schönen grünen RV Park am Stadtrand eingenistet und sind mit dem Bus in die Stadt gefahren. Im Zentrum gibt es unzählige Read More

Costa Alegre

Nach einer etwas langen Nacht auf der Fähre (es war laut, warm und hell) kamen wir an einem wunderschönen Sommermorgen in Mazatlan an. Ursprünglich wollten wir direkt weiter gen Süden fahren, doch wir halfen erstmal Jimmy aus Australien dabei, einen neuen Schlauch für sein Motorrad Read More