Author Archives: Max

Sierra, Sierra Ma-a-adre, Sierra, Sierra Madre Sur

Feeling refreshed from our time at the Laguna de Catemaco, we started off towards Oaxaca. We planned a day of driving for the first time in quite a while and wanted to get as close as possible to our goal. How good that we had Read More

On the unfamiliar Gulf Coast

After our mighty descent from Orizaba, we arrived at Veracruz on the Gulf Coast, a very big harbor city with correspondingly lively activity. Here, it is less the special architecture or great churches that attract attention. Veracruz is especially vibrant and animated – with loud Read More

Teotihuacan

After spending the past few weeks discovering so much about colonial culture, it was time for something else. What could be more fitting than the cultural heritage of the Incan times? The ruins of Teotihuacan are ideally suited for this. The gigantic Piramide del Sol Read More

Colonial Cities, Part 2

After 11 days with Robert, Lois and Audrey in San Luis Potosi, our Spanish had clearly improved, our Bremach had fresh oil, and the driving cabin was shining brightly thanks to its new paint job. And we had held our first talk about our trip Read More

Beneficial Exploitation of the Agave

As promised, our tours linked to the agave plant are now getting their own well-deserved report. We have even come to know about another use for the agave cactus in addition to making tequila from it, but more about this later. The little town of Read More

Costa Alegre

After a pretty long night on the ferry (loud, warm, and bright),we arrived in Mazatlan on a beautiful summer morning. Originally we had wanted to drive southwards right away, but first we helped Jimmy from Australia to find a new inner tubefor his motorcycle. We had met him on the way to Pichilingue when he Read More

Los Cabos – The Southern tip of Baja

After our days in La Ventana, the next thing on our agenda was driving around the southern tip of Baja – Los Cabos, known as a place of retreat and resort paradise for richAmericans. At first, we had planned to drive around the entireEast Cape since it is supposed to be especially beautiful. The first part of the stretch, however, turned out Read More

Heading south along serene beaches and across wild mountains

Shortly after we had reached Baja Sur, the southern part of the peninsula Baja California, we took a special detour to San Francisco de la Sierra. Long ago, the people living here far above the surrounding desert immortalized their impressions in cave paintings. Fortunately for Read More

North Baja – Cactus, Dream Beaches, and Uninhabited Regions

North Baja – Cactus, Dream Beaches, and Uninhabited Regions In Tijuana, a massive fence marks the border between the USA and its southern neighbor Mexico. Directly after crossing the border, we find ourselves in a different world: the streets are narrower, people walk along the Read More

On The Panamericana

After two days of sightseeing and shopping, we had enough of being in a big city (and this was one we had visited before) and left San Francisco via the Golden Gate Bridge. This was the first time that we were actually driving along the Read More

Author Archives: Max

Sierra, Sierra Ma-a-adre, Sierra, Sierra Madre Sur

Frisch erholt machten wir uns auf den Weg nach Oaxaca. Wir hatten das erste Mal seit langem einen Fahrtag geplant und wollten unserem Ziel möglichst nahe kommen. Gut, waren wir erholt – die Straße ging zuerst durch ein Überschwemmungsgebiet und war aufgrund der unendlich vielen Read More

An der unbekannten Golfküste

Nach unserem gewaltigen Abstieg herab vom Orizaba erreichten Veracruz an der Golfküste. Veracruz ist eine große Hafenstadt und entsprechend herrscht dort reges Treiben. Hier sind es weniger die besondere Architektur oder eine tolle Kirche, die die Aufmerksamkeit auf sich ziehen. Veracruz ist vor allem lebendig Read More

Teotihuacan

Nachdem wir uns in den vergangenen Wochen mit so viel Kolonialkultur umgeben hatten war es Zeit für etwas anderes. Was ist da passender, als Kulturgut aus Inkazeiten? Die Ruinen von Teotihuacan sind dazu hervorragend geeignet. Riesengroß – die Piramide del Sol ist die zweitgrößte Pyramide Read More

Kolonialstädte, Teil 2

Nach 11 Tagen in San Luis Potosi bei Robert, Lois und Audrey hatte sich unser Spanisch deutlich verbessert, unser Bremach hatte frisches Öl und die Fahrerkabine erstrahlte dank neuem Lack in frischem Glanz. Und wir haben für Roberts Englischstudenten an der Universität unseren ersten Vortrag Read More

Die nützliche Verwertung der Agave

Wie in unserem letzten Bericht versprochen, bekommen unsere Ausflüge rund um die Agave ihren eigenen Beitrag. Wir haben nämlich, neben der Verwandlung der Agave zu Tequila, noch eine weitere Verwendung dieses Kaktusses kennengelernt, doch dazu später mehr. Recht nah bei Guadalajara liegt das Städtchen Tequila, Read More

Costa Alegre

Nach einer etwas langen Nacht auf der Fähre (es war laut, warm und hell) kamen wir an einem wunderschönen Sommermorgen in Mazatlan an. Ursprünglich wollten wir direkt weiter gen Süden fahren, doch wir halfen erstmal Jimmy aus Australien dabei, einen neuen Schlauch für sein Motorrad Read More

Los Cabos – die Südspitze Bajas

Nach unseren Tagen in La Ventana stand die Umrundung der Südspitze Bajas bevor – unter dem Namen Los Cabos als Rückzugsort für reiche Amerikaner und als Resortparadies bekannt. Zuvor hatten wir vor, das gesamte East Cape zu umrunden, da dies von besonderer Schönheit sein soll. Read More

Entlang von Traumstränden und durch wilde Berge in den Süden

Kurz nachdem wir Baja Sur, den südlichen Teil der Halbinsel Baja California erreicht hatten, machten wir einen besonderen Abstecher nach San Francisco de la Sierra. Weit oberhalb der umliegenden Wüste lebten vor langer Zeit Menschen und verewigten Ihre Eindrücke in Form von Höhlenmalereien. Zum Glück Read More

Baja Nord – Kakteen, Pisten, Traumstrände und Menschenleere

In Tijuana trennt ein massiver Grenzzaun die USA von ihrem südlichen Nachbarn Mexiko. Gleich nach dem Grenzübertritt befinden wir uns in einer anderen Welt: die Straßen sind enger, Menschen laufen an den Autobahnen entlang und überqueren sie, alles ist staubiger und dreckiger. Nun hat das Read More

Auf der Panamericana

Nach zwei Tagen Sightseeing und Shopping hatten wir genug Großstadt (wir kannten die Stadt auch schon) und verließen San Francisco über die Golden Gate Bridge. Das war zugleich das erste Mal, dass wir auf der klassischen Panamericana fuhren. Wir sind dann gleich noch über ein Read More