Author Archives: Max

Shipping Montevideo (Uruguay) – Bremerhaven (Germany) with EUKOR

Coming soon…

Capital cities and gigantic steaks

Our last days in South America were a good preparation for getting us into the mood for our return to Europe. Wide, green fields with trees here and there and the changeable spring weather brought back images of home. Even shopping in Uruguayan supermarkets, their Read More

Bolivia

Even during our last few minutes in Peru, we had better and better views of Lake Titicaca, and we had barely arrived in Bolivia when the lake actually appeared as it is described: the Andean Sea – an endlessly broad expanse of water, with either Read More

From the Dunes to the Incas

After our differential had been repaired, we left Huancayo and headed up into the high mountains again. For the second time, we drove across the main ridge of the Andes, this time via a 16,000-foot-high (5000m) pass and across a magnificent plateau full of deep-blue Read More

A Year on the Road – a special anniversary

Today marks one year on the road in our Bremach, and, with perfect timing, it gave us a very “special present”: damage in the bearing in the rear axle differential, which we fortunately noticed in time. So we are now sitting in a big repair Read More

Cordillera Huayhuash

Even before leaving the Cordillera Blanca, we could see the shining, steep peaks of the Cordillera Huayhuash (pronounced: why wash). The wild, jagged peaks soared up towards the sky, and a condor circled majestically above them – a good omen for the adventures awaiting us. Read More

Cordillera Blanca

From Cajamarca, we followed the little-traveled route through the highlands southwards along the increasingly higher mountain ranges. Some nice villages and their friendly inhabitants made the drive a pleasure. Tanja’s sister Natalie met up with us again In Huamachuco, and we headed off through the Read More

Rough and Almost Impassable Northern Peru

Full of prejudices, we crossed the border – expecting rubbish, petty crime, and unfriendly people from reports we had heard. But, lo and behold, like a wonder, none of this appeared. Even the customs official suffering under the unreliable intranet with us was very friendly Read More

Around the Equator in Ecuador

Right after the border between Columbia and Ecuador, we left the Panamericana to drive along a secluded track through the Paramo, an area of high tropical vegetation in the northern Andes. Near the  nature reserve “El Angel“, there is extensive, dense growth of frailejones, unique Read More

The southern part of Columbia

Invigorated by all the coffee, we drove one long day towards the Tatacoa Desert. Due to the lack of a bridge and stern reminders at the tollgate not to drive at night in this area, we ended up spending the night on the parking lot Read More

Author Archives: Max

Verschiffung Montevideo – Bremerhaven mit EUKOR

Nach langer Planung, ab wo wir denn nach Hause verschiffen sollten, fiel die Wahl auf EUKOR. Das Angebot war mit Abstand das Günstigste und erschien uns wesentlich besser als die Angebote von Grimaldi/Seabridge/Mafra ab Zarate (ARG), Montevideo (URU) oder Paranagua (BRA). Wesentliche Gründe, die für Read More

Hauptstädte und Riesensteaks

Die letzten Tage in Südamerika waren eine gute Einstimmung auf Europa. Weite, grüne Felder mit vereinzelten Bäumen und das wechselhafte Frühlingswetter ließen fast Heimatgefühle aufkommen Sogar der Besuch uruguayischer Supermärkte erinnerte sehr an Europa, sowohl was deren Gestaltung als auch das Angebot betraf. Es hätte Read More

Bolivien

Schon auf den letzten Metern durch Peru wurden die Blicke auf den Titicacasee immer besser und kaum in Bolivien angekommen, erschien uns der See tatsächlich als das vielbeschriebene Meer der Anden – eine endlos weite Wasserfläche und dahinter entweder blauer Himmel oder die schneebedeckten Berge Read More

Von den Dünen zu den Inkas

Nachdem unser Differential erfolgreich repariert war, ging es von Huancayo wieder hoch in die Berge und wir überquerten ein weiteres Mal den Andenhauptkamm. Diesmal ging es über einen über 5000m hohen Pass und durch eine grandiose Hochebene bei Santa Inés, die voller tiefblauer Seen war. Read More

Ein Jahr unterwegs – ein besonderer Geburtstag

Heute sind wir seit einem Jahr in unserem Bremach unterwegs. Pünktlich dazu hat uns unser Auto ein ganz besonderes Geschenk gemacht. Ein Lagerschaden im Hinterachsdifferential, den wir zum Glück rechtzeitig bemerkt haben. So sitzen wir nun in Huancayo in einer großen Werkstatt und warten darauf, Read More

Cordillera Huayhuash

Bereits auf den letzten Metern in der Cordillera Blanca leuchteten uns die steilen Gipfel der Cordillera Huayhuash (sprich: Waiwasch) entgegen. Über einem majestätisch kreisenden Kondor ragten die wilden Zacken in den blauen Himmel – ein gutes Vorzeichen für die bevorstehenden Abenteuer. Durch einsame Dörfer und Read More

Cordillera Blanca

Von Cajamarca folgten wir der wenig bereisten Route durchs Hochland entlang der stetig höher werdenden Berge nach Süden. Einige nette Städtchen und die freundlichen Bewohner der Gegend machten die Fahrt zu einem Genuss. In Huamachuco stieß Tanjas Schwester Natalie wieder zu uns und wir machten Read More

Der unwegsame Norden Perus

Beladen mit Vorurteilen haben wir die Grenze nach Peru passiert – Müll, Kleinkriminialität und unfreundliche Leute sollten uns erwarten. Doch, oh Wunder, davon war nichts zu sehen und spüren. Schon der Grenzbeamte, der mit uns unter dem labilen Intranet des Zolls litt, war sehr freundlich Read More

Rund um den Äquator in Ecuador

Gleich nach der Grenze verließen wir die Panamerikana, um auf einer einsamen Piste durch den Paramo zu fahren. In der Umgebung des Naturreservates „El Angel“ gibt es großflächigen Bewuchs durch die Frailejones, Pflanzen, die wir bereits in den Hochlagen Kolumbiens sahen. Eine kaum befahrene Piste Read More

Der Süden Kolumbiens

Gestärkt vom vielen Kaffee fuhren wir an einem langen Fahrtag in Richtung der Tatacoa-Wüste. Aufgrund einer fehlenden Brücke und eindringlicher Hinweise an der Mautstelle, in dieser Gegend nicht Nachts zu fahren, landeten wir sehr zur Freude der Kinder in Aipe auf dem Feuerwehrparkplatz. Sie durften Read More